Final Answer.... Please!! (Community)

Final Answer.... Please!! // Community

1  |  

shalimar

Jul 23, 2006, 11:22am
When upgrading to a new world server admin tool, do you have to uninstall
the one you are using and lose all the world info you have entered into it,
or can you simply overwrite with the newest build? I have asked AW Support
twice and have received two different answers! : /

dm mercury

Jul 23, 2006, 12:36pm
I wish the admin tool would just come zipped. though simple solution is
just makea backup of the ini files.

DM

[View Quote]

ciena

Jul 23, 2006, 2:50pm
i dont know myself but i always uninstall the old one and start out with the
fresh new one
[View Quote]

tengel

Jul 23, 2006, 11:40pm
As admin tool, it is only one thing that is importen, that is admin.ini,
take a copy of that, then just install the new one where you have your admin
tool.
When done, paste back your copy of admin.ini

Tengel

[View Quote]

young phalpha

Jul 24, 2006, 5:32pm
If your talking about only the admin tool itself, then you may simply
download the latest admin tool:
http://objects.activeworlds.com/downloads/admin.zip, and then simply extract
it to your current admin directory, pressing Yes to overwrite admin.exe.
Your settings would not be touched in that case.

- YP

[View Quote]

king ramel o

Jul 30, 2006, 1:34pm
What I do is take the "data" folder, the admin.ini and world.ini make a copy
of them, do the upgrade and then paste in the copies overwriting the new
ones.
This is what was told to me by Tinablues and it works perfect I do not lose
any setting and such.
The admin tool is updated when you do the upgrade.

Kingy


[View Quote]

shalimar

Aug 2, 2006, 4:59am
Thanks, everyone! :)
[View Quote]

1  |  
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn