Yaf(a)Ray 4 Truespace development info thread!

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Yaf(a)Ray 4 Truespace development info thread! // The Garage

1  ...  3  4  5  6  7  8  |  

Post by Jack Edwards // Feb 24, 2009, 9:41am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
The difference in the Lightworks render looks to be a solid (gray) background. Have you tried using a gray background for the Yafaray render? (Instead of the default gradient background.) You can set that on the "Background" tab.

Post by RAYMAN // Feb 24, 2009, 9:55am

RAYMAN
Total Posts: 1496
pic
Jack thats better but nowhere near good ! note that the render in the other

renderengine had physical sky also applied ....

Post by Jack Edwards // Feb 24, 2009, 10:02am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Keep in mind the background gradient colors are just 4 colors that I picked. You can probably find better colors that meet what you're trying to do. You could also use an image for the background if it's high enough resolution, but I haven't been able to get good results with Yafaray's IBL yet.

Post by RAYMAN // Feb 24, 2009, 10:10am

RAYMAN
Total Posts: 1496
pic
Jack I post the scene file maybe you get better results but those colors are washed out what I dont understand ....

when I had the same shader applied in the room setup it realy flashed up

In this testscene the background is plain grey .....:o

Post by Jack Edwards // Feb 24, 2009, 10:22am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Could it be the Gamma correction value?

Edit:

I noticed that you'd set the mirror color to pink. That tints all your "specular" reflections to pink. White is more usual.

Also setting the Glossy color to white and glossy reflection to 0.15, diffuse reflection to 0.85 gives more usual results.

Let me know if that solves it for you. :)

Post by RAYMAN // Feb 24, 2009, 11:07am

RAYMAN
Total Posts: 1496
pic
Could it be the Gamma correction value?


:)


Jack yes it could be the gamma correction value....

I tried something and made the colors as maps in Photoshop

and applied them to the chanels and that worked pretty well for the shiny diffuse materials...... the coated glossy doesnt work yet

Plus i get an error message if I ad a diffuse reflect Tex to the coated glossy !

Post by Jack Edwards // Feb 24, 2009, 11:38am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Thanks Peter. That's a script error. The material maps didn't get a lot of testing, so it's entirely likely that an error there could've been missed.

Post by RAYMAN // Feb 24, 2009, 11:50am

RAYMAN
Total Posts: 1496
pic
Thats what we are here for Jack ... finding all the errors

I got glossy to run but its a little bit difficult I also loaded

the maps from photoshop

Post by Jack Edwards // Feb 24, 2009, 11:54am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Definitely appreciate it. The Yafaray glossy material produces cool results but it is a bit odd in the way it works.

Here's the parameters and discriptions from the Yafaray documentation:
http://wiki.yafray.org/bin/view.pl/UserDoc/YafaRayParameters#Coated_Glossy

Post by RAYMAN // Feb 24, 2009, 1:32pm

RAYMAN
Total Posts: 1496
pic
Jack thats how coated glossy looks like when rendered in Yafaray Blender...

Post by transient // Feb 24, 2009, 3:01pm

transient
Total Posts: 977
pic
@Tiles - I'm not sure if this helps you, but there is a free image viewer called Imagewalker (http://www.imagewalker.com/) that I use to view my test renders. I always render out with dribble as the render doesn't "stick" in the vewport like vray does, if you get my drift. I also use it with vray anyway, as I like to have an album of the changes I've made.


You can leave the app open and it will automatically bring the image into the list. It's kind of like an advanced explorer window. You can do quick edits like contrast etc. It has many features apart form this as well. Very nice app.

Post by kena // Feb 24, 2009, 5:59pm

kena
Total Posts: 2321
pic
I want to see:

the ability to use a background

The ability to choose TS's background color

The ability to change the default render background colors better

Faster render times

A basic material set.

Multiple material layers, not just two.

A full tutorial/help system/file.

Render to screen in TS (I know it's a lot of coding)


Not sure how much of that is planned, but I would love to see all of the above before you abandon the project.

Post by Tiles // Feb 24, 2009, 10:53pm

Tiles
Total Posts: 1037
pic
Thanks for the link transient. ImageWalker looks interesting :)


I would nevertheless prefer to have an inbuilt solution instead ...

Post by Jack Edwards // Feb 25, 2009, 12:56am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Kena, render speed is internal to the engine, nothing I can do for you there. Remember all we are doing is writing an exporter. Yafaray isn't made by us.

We will be adding a node based material system that will allow for infinite(?) layers and will include procedural textures and alternate world/object coordinate UV mappings.

Render to screen will not be coming -- Workspace doesn't support that. Render to a window is possible if we rewrite the whole add-on as a plugin.

Tons of Background features are already included including procedural SunSky, did you check the "Background" aspect tab? :confused:

The four Yafaray materials + the constant Light material are included. Not sure what you mean by "basic" materials. :confused:

The help system is going to need a lot of work and no one has volunteered to do that yet.

Post by kena // Feb 25, 2009, 6:01am

kena
Total Posts: 2321
pic
Kena, render speed is internal to the engine, nothing I can do for you there. Remember all we are doing is writing an exporter. Yafaray isn't made by us. well darn. large polys take a while then.


We will be adding a node based material system that will allow for infinite(?) laters and will include procedural textures and alternate world/object coordinate UV mappings. thanks for that! it will make it easier to "dirty" textures and combine them in patterns.


Render to screen will not be coming -- Workspace doesn't support that. Render to a window is possible if we rewrite the whole add-on as a plugin. yeah... the second one is the one I would like to see but I do understand that a lot of coding would have to be made.... Hope you get ambitious. :D


Tons of Background features are already included including procedural SunSky, did you check the "Background" aspect tab? :confused: Yes, I checked the Background tab, but I guess I need that manual to work it correctly. I HAVE come up with some strange colors tho.


The four Yafaray materials + the constant Light material are included. Not sure what you mean by "basic" materials. :confused: um... glass, wood, paper(parchment?), marble... standard ones that people can modify to make their own and learn the best way to make their own.


The help system is going to need a lot of work and no one has volunteered to do that yet. Hope you get someone soon. without it, it's a very steep learning curve. :cool:

Post by Jack Edwards // Feb 25, 2009, 6:53am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Thanks Kena. The background settings are included in the the Yafaray User guide pdf:
http://www.yafaray.org/documentation
That should really help you out.

Also for the Sun Sky try this tutorial:
http://www.martin-sand.de/tutorials-sunsky.php

About derived materials, I guess a material pack add-on could be created.

Glass works pretty well just using defaults.

Wood could be done using either glossy or shiny diffuse and would be a texture + bump, then you'd adjust the diffuse vs. specular reflect values depending on whether it has a coating of varnish. For really shiny wood, adding an outer mesh with glass material could give that really glossy look. ;)

Paper has a matte finish so you'd use the shiny diffuse material and set the specular reflect values to 0.0.

Post by kena // Feb 25, 2009, 8:35pm

kena
Total Posts: 2321
pic
All good information - thanks Jack!

Post by v3rd3 // Feb 26, 2009, 10:00am

v3rd3
Total Posts: 388
Other than the bump map the foreground globe is default class.... Some cool effects happening...

Post by Jack Edwards // Feb 26, 2009, 10:13am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
I've coded up a TGA viewer application that will spawn when the render is complete and will allow you to save out in PNG, JPG, BMP, and GIF formats. The viewer will be distributed with the next beta.

@ v3rd3, looking cool! Thanks for the testing! :D

Post by v3rd3 // Feb 26, 2009, 12:17pm

v3rd3
Total Posts: 388
I am reading the yafaray doc to figure out what the heck I should be testing....


FYI, never ask an old mainframe guy to test anything.... we take it far too seriously....:jumpy:

Post by nealiosnoise // Feb 27, 2009, 2:59am

nealiosnoise
Total Posts: 77
pic
i installed yafaray and yafaray4ts wanting to try this out.


but i cant seem to get my directories right??..



here im showing where my folders are, and my directory settings in truespace, i believe i set everything right, but this message is popping up. . .


18610



i need some help setting up a path, or i need to change where i installed yafaray stuff?. . ....:jumpy::jumpy::):D:banana:;)

Post by jrboddie // Feb 27, 2009, 3:15am

jrboddie
Total Posts: 91
pic
Yes. It appears your Yafaray folder is located under C:\ instead of C:\Program Files\


Try changing the Yafaray Install Path textbox to:


C:\YafaRay\yafarya-xml.exe


Be careful about case.

Post by nealiosnoise // Feb 27, 2009, 3:46am

nealiosnoise
Total Posts: 77
pic
i did what thy said,.. now its saying


18612



this can not be!!!

Post by Emma // Feb 27, 2009, 6:38am

Emma
Total Posts: 344
pic
Assuming you have a directory C:\Temp this error message woudl be correct, if:


- XML tooo big to fit into your Memory / or yafary doesn't fint in --> so yafaray doesn't create the .tga file


Can you locate the XML file in Temp directory, how large is it?

Post by Jack Edwards // Feb 27, 2009, 6:59am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Wow, nealiosnoise that's an error I've never seen before, program too big to fit in memory :eek:

Unless you have less than 512 megs ram... :confused: but even then it should still swap out to the harddrive... maybe you should have Task Manager open too see how much ram you have available...

I've done 15 mb XML files @ 20 million Photons with no probs on my machine...YafaRay still only topped out at ~680MB usage.

Post by nealiosnoise // Feb 27, 2009, 7:25am

nealiosnoise
Total Posts: 77
pic
turns out the XML Doc is 426 KB,.. but that doesnt matter anymore..

i got it to work finally,:banana: i uninstalled and reinstalled yafaray
to my program files instead of just my C drive, dont know why it works or how, but it works.

my temp folder is still the same, everything is the same except where i put yafaray,

and looky looky

18618

i still dont know what all the possible settings can do, i will download the yafa guide and learn some stuff

this was my 2nd render out of 6, and was the best one

all the other renders were "Dusty".

i have 4 gig memory so i dont know why things got out'a wack.

Post by TomG // Feb 27, 2009, 9:21am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
If you are running on Vista, the root of the C:\ drive is protected in several ways. This can prevent programs from reading or writing to it, though they will happily write to a sub folder like C:\programs.


HTH!

Tom

Post by Jack Edwards // Feb 27, 2009, 11:32am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Nice image nealiosnoise! Glad you got up and running! :banana:
The GI type lighting methods are noiser than the Direct Lighting method, so that may be the difference that you were seeing. AA and higher photon settings can help. I use 3.5 Million Photons when I need caustic effects.

I'm curious to know what settings you used used for the image above because the caustics do look very clean.

Post by robert // Feb 27, 2009, 1:35pm

robert
Total Posts: 609
pic
Very nice render, did you use GI?

Post by RAYMAN // Feb 27, 2009, 3:00pm

RAYMAN
Total Posts: 1496
pic
Experimenting with diamonds but not getting them right yet......

But not giving up !
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn