Questions and Comments.. Grass Tutorial

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Questions and Comments.. Grass Tutorial // One way to make Grass

1  |  

Post by prodigy // Apr 28, 2007, 4:36pm

prodigy
Total Posts: 3029
pic
Feel free to make questions or comments about this tutorial here..

Thanks I-Brent! :D

You can access to the tutorial also clicking here.. (http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?t=2710)

Post by trueBlue // Apr 28, 2007, 8:08pm

trueBlue
Total Posts: 1761
pic
Great tutorial, thanks Prodigy.

Post by Burisman // Apr 29, 2007, 12:51am

Burisman
Total Posts: 128
pic
Hey Prodigy, that was fun, ... learning a completely new tool, and doing something really nice with it. Thanks to your tutorial I climbed another step on the learning curve :)

Post by xmanflash // Apr 29, 2007, 1:01am

xmanflash
Total Posts: 335
Feel free to make quesitons or comments about this tutorial here..

Thanks I-Brent! :D

Excellent stuff - Thanks! Can they be animated physically to wave in the breeze (perhaps if they were taller?)?

Post by Steinie // Apr 29, 2007, 4:04am

Steinie
Total Posts: 3667
pic
...it's not round....

Sorry private joke.

Prodigy,

Hey great job with this one too! You should have been a teacher because your very good at instruction. Glad your here!

Steinie

Post by prodigy // Apr 29, 2007, 5:19am

prodigy
Total Posts: 3029
pic
Im thinking to add a second part to this tutorial.. but is a secret too ;).

Today if i have time i will do..

Cheers!

Post by Kielkenny // May 12, 2007, 8:16am

Kielkenny
Total Posts: 7
Wow :-) finally I made something with this particle thing. Thank you great tutorial.


Kielkenny

Post by prodigy // May 21, 2007, 11:03am

prodigy
Total Posts: 3029
pic
Your welcome.. i dont find free time yet to make the second part.. but i hope have free time very soon.. :)

Post by tylerh // Aug 30, 2007, 2:58am

tylerh
Total Posts: 47
pic
Great tutorial, thanks! I've been a member for a while but have not had a chance to play with Ts like I've wanted to. It's always great to read tutorials like yours (as well as your work) to get some motivation!

Post by Mirador // Oct 4, 2007, 7:20am

Mirador
Total Posts: 14
Hi Prodigy


I am still ploughing my way through the printed ts manual and haven't got to the trueparticles section yet but I thought I would have a go at your tutorial for fun.


I have ended up with what looks a bit like a grassy hillside and it was all dead easy.


Thanks for a great tutorial, very easy to follow.


Paul

Post by prodigy // Oct 10, 2007, 11:36am

prodigy
Total Posts: 3029
pic
Sorry for the delay!! glad you like it! :)

Regards!

Augusto

Post by rjeff // Oct 18, 2007, 7:37am

rjeff
Total Posts: 1260
pic
Ok I know this is late, but I just took a bit of time to play with Prodigy's tutorial. I seem to be having a issue. I can't seem to even get the particles to appear on the plane. Here is my image.

Post by prodigy // Oct 18, 2007, 10:13am

prodigy
Total Posts: 3029
pic
Check you are not over the frame Nº 0 .. just move the anim slider to another frame and you will see the particles..

the problem is the emiter start to emit particles from the frame number 1..

Let me know if that helps.. ;)

Post by rjeff // Oct 18, 2007, 10:38am

rjeff
Total Posts: 1260
pic
Ok here is my new screen grab..no parcitles.. sorry for bugging, but I will need this grass stuff next image I am doing.

Post by prodigy // Oct 18, 2007, 10:46am

prodigy
Total Posts: 3029
pic
Im not sure if that works selecting the frames from the new AE. If you use the AE check you have the bridge in ON/Full that may solve that problem..

But use the Old model side Animation tools to change the frame not from the AE.

*Change the emit start to 1

Post by prodigy // Oct 18, 2007, 12:46pm

prodigy
Total Posts: 3029
pic
Ok, now im home to test and i was right..

The problem is you change the frame on the wrong place, i mean.. is the right place but the new AE doesn't update the old model side frames.. even if you use the bridge in ON / Full.. (tested in 7.5)

9003

You can see where are these old anim tools.. and if you take a look you can see im in the 12th frame (in the old side) but in the AE (new 7.5 side) still with the frame 0.

Hope that make your grass grows! :D
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2020. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn