Ideal computer setup for TS 7.6

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Ideal computer setup for TS 7.6 // Hardware

1  |  

Post by esculptor // Aug 27, 2008, 6:18am

esculptor
Total Posts: 7
Has anyone come up with a perfect or near perfect system for TS 7.6?


Like to hear some suggestions.


As my TS tends to hang on my system - P4 hyper-threading CPU 3.2mhz, 2Gb Ram, Ati 9800 pro .... still give me these problems.


But Google Sketchup runs perfectly on it! ... thanks

Post by TomG // Aug 27, 2008, 6:36am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
Sketchup does a lot less than trueSpace :)


Runs well on both my systems


Xeon Quad Core 2.00 GHz, Quadro 570 256Mb, 4Gb RAM, Vista 64 bit


Core 2 Duo 1.86GHz, 8800 GS 312Mb, 3Gb RAM, Vista 32 bit


HTH!

Tom

Post by Jack Edwards // Aug 27, 2008, 7:27am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Runs fine on both my Asus Z71v laptop (nVidia 6600go, XP) and my custom built desktop (Xeon 3040 @ 3.0 Ghz, nVidia 7900GS, Vista x64)

Under what situation is TS crashing for you?

Post by esculptor // Aug 31, 2008, 6:00am

esculptor
Total Posts: 7
Hello Mr. Jack Edwards,


Well it normally hangs on certain functions ...like Booleon - then undoing them..


Also When I render & stopping render half way. Rendering above 1800 x 1100 also cause the same.


Hope you can help me identify what's causing these problems or what's lacking on my system.


Thank you.


e sculptor

Post by Jack Edwards // Aug 31, 2008, 6:36am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Could be that you are running out of RAM especially if you have Vista installed and only 2GB of RAM.
You may want to have Task Manager open and see when your memory usage goes to when doing those things.

If RAM usage is ok, then it could be that you're running into a bug with the boolean tool. Are you using the tool on Workspace side or Model side? If you're using the Workspace boolean tool and the situation is repeatable, I think the devs would be very interested in seeing the file and the crash report. Even better if you can provide a screen cap video as well.

You can contact Paul here: service@caligari.com
He can help you with getting the file uploaded to them.

Which render engine are you seeing the rendering problem with?

Post by esculptor // Aug 31, 2008, 7:22am

esculptor
Total Posts: 7
I am running on MS Windows XP, Home Edition Version 2002, SP 3.

Intel P4 CPU- 3.20Ghz, 2 GB Ram.


It hangs while I was/am using TS 6.6, since I encounter these problems quite often, I do not have a chance to go futher.


I have yet to go into detail with TS 7.6.


I will provide you with futher details a bit later, when I encounter the problem again.


Thanks you,

e sculptor

Post by Steinie // Aug 31, 2008, 11:29am

Steinie
Total Posts: 3667
pic
Any Booleon operation on the Modeler side is asking for trouble and expecting undo to work is like asking for a Miracle. The old rule of thumb was always save work before performing Booleon because it was sure to crash.


Not the same problem on the workSpace side. Booleon is very stable and undo actually works! Night and Day.

Post by kena // Aug 31, 2008, 12:22pm

kena
Total Posts: 2321
pic
I've had no proble3ms with Boolien operations on the Workspace side so far.

Post by splinters // Sep 1, 2008, 11:39am

splinters
Total Posts: 4148
pic
Depends what you are doing...I have many crashes but nothing I can repeat...seems a bit hit and miss.


The 'save often' advice is still wise...:o
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn