Got my new computer up and running!

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Got my new computer up and running! // Hardware

1  |  

Post by TylerZambori // Mar 31, 2008, 6:41am

TylerZambori
Total Posts: 100
ahahaha! The only thing that was bad was a 120gb IDE HD. Unhooked it,

and plugged in the 500gb Sata drive only. works like a top!


I made a big mistake on the OS and accidentally got windows xp pro

32 bit, and now I have to wait until I can buy the 64 bit version.



The fans sound like a jet engine all right! I can't hear the phone,

and if somebody walks up behind me, and suddenly starts speaking,

it's likely to startle me badly.


I don't have much software on it yet. I still want to get two more

hard drives, xp pro 64 bit, and a nice big monitor.

Post by hemulin // Mar 31, 2008, 7:07am

hemulin
Total Posts: 1058
pic
What cooling system do you have for it to run so loud? :confused: The only machines I've ever encountered that sound like yours are dedicated servers where the back of the machine consists solely of fans.

Post by TylerZambori // Mar 31, 2008, 7:14am

TylerZambori
Total Posts: 100
What cooling system do you have for it to run so loud? :confused: The only machines I've ever encountered that sound like yours are dedicated servers where the back of the machine consists solely of fans.


I got the VANTEC TD8038H 80mm Case Fan over on newegg, it is called

"the Tornado."


http://tinyurl.com/yv6p4g


hehe.

Post by TomG // Mar 31, 2008, 7:34am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
About to fit a 120mm back case fan on my machine, as the 8800 runs a bit hot and summer is on its way, not sure what that will do to the noise levels (it has a side case 80mm fan only at the minute). Also sticking an extra 2Gb memory in there, since it was $35! I paid $120 for the exact same 2Gb a little over a year ago :)


Congratulations on your new machine!


Tom

Post by hemulin // Mar 31, 2008, 10:11am

hemulin
Total Posts: 1058
pic
I got the VANTEC TD8038H 80mm Case Fan over on newegg, it is called
"the Tornado."

http://tinyurl.com/yv6p4g

hehe.

That explains it. :)

You could always go for this. (http://www.xclio.com/product/wind_tunnel/wind_tunnel_page.htm)

http://www.xclio.com/product/wind_tunnel/images/wt_photo001.jpg

Post by Jack Edwards // Mar 31, 2008, 11:47am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Congrats on your new rig Tyler! :banana:

You guys should check out FrozenCPU.com they specialize in quiet fans that move a lot of air:
http://www.frozencpu.com/

I got this kit for the side of my case:
http://www.frozencpu.com/products/5451/fan-279/250mm_Silent_Case_Fan.html?tl=g36c15s566
It's very quiet but you'll need a dremel tool for install:
http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?t=2179

The SilenX fans are very nice:
http://www.frozencpu.com/cat/l3/g36/c15/s550/list/p1/Fans-12_Volt_Fans-SilenX-Page1.html

Post by splinters // Mar 31, 2008, 1:35pm

splinters
Total Posts: 4148
pic
So Tyler, what is the spec of this new machine?

Post by TylerZambori // Mar 31, 2008, 8:01pm

TylerZambori
Total Posts: 100
hemulin: nice, but it looks way too serious for me.


TomG: Thank you very much, I have some left over 120mm

fans because I did not pay attention to case size.


Jack: Thank you! I am so relieved, because it took so long to get

the money together for this. I've been using a microwave for

the last year (just kidding). Now that died as soon as this one

was working. karma, eh?


Splinters, here are the specs:


here's a picture of the case:


http://www.triglon.com/shopexd.asp?id=77#


Handles are a big deal to me .


the specs are:


Intel Core 2 Quad q6600 2.4ghz


EVGA 8800gt 512mb graphics


GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS4 Rev. 2.0 LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard


G.SKILL 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory


Some kinda ASUS dvd drive that gets good reviews:


http://tinyurl.com/3afsju


Some kinda Samsung 500gb HD


PSU is a 650 watt Enermax Infiniti.


And sometime soon I want to get this 22" monitor:


http://tinyurl.com/yvbxdn



And it has flashy lights!

Post by Jack Edwards // Mar 31, 2008, 10:02pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Tyler, check out my post here for some links and apps that will help you calibrate that monitor you are looking to get:
http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showpost.php?p=64016&postcount=157

Post by TylerZambori // Apr 1, 2008, 6:15am

TylerZambori
Total Posts: 100
Tyler, check out my post here for some links and apps that will help you calibrate that monitor you are looking to get:

http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showpost.php?p=64016&postcount=157


Thank you very much, because I really do want that Acer monitor :).

Post by Jack Edwards // Apr 1, 2008, 12:28pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
My Acer monitor is working well for me, but it definitely needed adjustment.

The values I finally ended up using where:

On the monitor:
Contrast 100
Brightness 42
User color setting - R37, G37, B32

Nvidia control panel:
Brightness 50%
Digital Vibrance 0%
Contrast 35%
Image sharpening 0%
Gamma 26%
(I'm still using the 163.75 drivers :()

Hope that helps you out!

Post by johnhoward // Apr 1, 2008, 1:28pm

johnhoward
Total Posts: 231
About the noise: I once bought a liquid coolent system for a noisy computer. It was wonderful - not a sound, even on the hottest days and never failed.


But it kept me awake all night worrying about a leak.

Post by TylerZambori // Apr 1, 2008, 2:47pm

TylerZambori
Total Posts: 100
About the noise: I once bought a liquid coolent system for a noisy computer. It was wonderful - not a sound, even on the hottest days and never failed.


But it kept me awake all night worrying about a leak.


yeah I couldn't stand the worry. I worked too hard to buy the parts.

It's like: computer, car, you have to have both to function.


Thanks Jack, I iwll remember it when I get the monitor.

Post by TomG // Apr 2, 2008, 5:11am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
What fun hardware installs can be :(


The 120mm fan was incredibly noisy compared to my 80mm, but a quick install of SpeedFan fixed that, now I have it running only on 30% unless temps go up and then it kicks in (actually normally I can have it running at 0% and temps are fine, but I decided to try and keep things a bit cooler in there).


The real problem was adding in the extra 2Gb of memory to the existing 2Gb I had, as Vista wouldnt boot when I did. It would boot with 3Gb, but not 4Gb (4 x 1Gb sticks).


In the end I had to change the BIOS and not depend on the auto detect settings any more, and manually set the timings and memory clock speed, then I got it to boot just fine.


Of course with a 32 bit OS, not all the 4Gb is visible, but that was not the issue on boot up. If anyone else has the same thing, then sorry to say that BIOS changes seem to be the only solution - sometimes you just cant get by with the old auto values!


Anyway done now, and the extra memory seems to make quite a difference to overall stability and speed in general, so its nice to have it there despite the work it took to get it running!


Tom


Hey just noted on another thread that Jack has the same set up as me, P5N-E board, with G-Skill ram. Despite having to tweak the settings to get it to boot, I am still very happy with both brands.

Post by frootee // Apr 2, 2008, 5:21am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Tom, You're more man than I! Every time I tried Flashing my BIOS I ended up Flashing the whole system... catastrophic failure. :cool:


Each time I made sure I had the right BIOS for my system, but it never worked, after I flashed it. Apparently I Smoked the BIOS, not Flashed it... :D

Post by TomG // Apr 2, 2008, 6:01am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
Ah I didnt try flashing my BIOS, I have a great fear of trying that :) I just had to go into it and swap the CAS and clock speed etc for the memory off of "Auto" and onto manually setting 5-5-5-15 etc.


That's about the one thing I have never yet attempted, flashing the BIOS - done every other part of computer construction but that. Though one day I will give it a go, had the board for over a year now so I think there is an update.


If I do, I'll let you know if I flash or smoke it too :)


Thanks!

Tom

Post by frootee // Apr 2, 2008, 6:19am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Ah OK. I guess I misunderstood.

If I try flashing the bios on either of our systems now I'd have to buy a whole new system most likely, since both are older generation boards: I cannot find replacement CPUs, the video card technology is AGP 4X (not PCI Express), the hard drives are UltraIDE (not the newer serial technology)... So if I have to replace something it may very well be the entire system. But I'll cross that bridge when I get there...


Oh and one 19" monitor takes quite awhile to illuminate if it's gone into 'power save' mode.


I am a firm believer in entropy, so it's just a matter of time... hopefully I'll have the dough for replacement when something goes! :)

Post by chamaeleon // Apr 3, 2008, 4:37am

chamaeleon
Total Posts: 74
I don't have much software on it yet. I still want to get two more hard drives, xp pro 64 bit, and a nice big monitor.

Just a little bit of a heads-up. Although I'm not very familiar with XP Pro 64, from what little I've read, it's going to be pretty much a dead end. No further development for it by Microsoft with the possible exception of some patches now and then, and perhaps more importantly, proper drivers for hardware might not be available. Caveat Emptor... Before jumping, make sure you know what you're getting into.

Post by MikeNTX // Apr 26, 2008, 10:33pm

MikeNTX
Total Posts: 28
TylerZ et al,


I built my new pc about same time as you did with the following essentials worth mentioning, a Q6600 quad CPU on a ASUS P5K motherboard, that I am very happy with. Because the PC sits in a roll top computer desk I did not want it overheating all the time like my old PC did. So the CPU is water cooled with an external radiator http://www.thermaltakeusa.com/product/Liquid/Upgrade/cl-w0098/cl-w0098.asp that sits outside the desk and i use a super quiet high volume pump http://www.dangerden.com/store/product.php?productid=175&cat=4&page=1. I have four 120mm fans on the case, front, top, side and back and when I first booted it up it did sound like an airplane in it. But the ASUS board has something they call Q-Fan in the BIOS and included utilities. So the computer starts with the fans and full speed and in the middle of booting up the Q-Fan kicks in and the fans all drop to a very quiet 850 RPM and sit there even when running at full load for a long time. So it is a lot quieter and cooler than my old rig that had two 80mm fans going at full speed. As for the concerns of the cooling system leaking. I did not use quick disconnect or compression fittings just old fashion clamps for all fittings. I also used Tygon hoses in it. It does cost about three times as much as vinyl hose but it is strong and very flexible and well worth the money.


I did get XP x64 for it. I found it for $2 less then the place had 32bit XP Pro for. I like that I can currently have 4Gb memory in it and can any time add more if I want. But it is not as great as I thought it was. I have no 64 bit software yet that can take advantage of it fully. I discovered that our Norton Security will not install on it and they currently to not make their antivirus s/w for a 64bit OS. In fact it was hard to find any antivirus software for XP x64. My Epson scanner that I love so much does not work on it and there are no driver updates coming according to Epson. I had shell more money out to update 2 programs I have to have so they would work on the new machine. I might still get the 64bit version of XP if I had it to do all over again, I do love the extra memory. But I would not recommend it as a “must have” to others.


Mike

Post by Jack Edwards // Apr 26, 2008, 10:41pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
AVG and Kaspersky are good AV programs and both work with 64bit versions of windows. ;)

AVG doesn't auto handle the Windows Mail mailboxes in Vista, it does work fine with Outlook though.
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2020. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn