Using a reference drawing in 4.3

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Using a reference drawing in 4.3 // TS6 and Older

1  |  

Post by androidlove // Apr 22, 2007, 5:58pm

androidlove
Total Posts: 32
I'm designing a robot from my reference drawing. How do I use the reference drawing in 4.3? I've tried setting it as a background, but it goes away when I edit.


Thank you.

Post by TheWickedWitchOfTheWeb // Apr 23, 2007, 12:22am

TheWickedWitchOfTheWeb
Total Posts: 858
pic
Set up your reference pics on planes. Setting it as the background isn't wise as it doesn't scale/move as you adjest the view of your object for modelling. Planes will be a constant size. There are numberous tutorials for doing this floating around the web (and it's much quicker and easier than it may seem) and there's one (plus a discussion) on this very forum: http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?t=1474


Now for the clever bit, once done, use the free Rotoscope plugin from CK Game Factory to make the planes rendered as solid even if you are in wire frame mode so that your reference pic is always there while you model.

http://ckgamefactory.hp.infoseek.co.jp/tsxe/rotoscop.html


Hope that helps and have fun!

Post by androidlove // Apr 23, 2007, 2:48am

androidlove
Total Posts: 32
Thank you!


I wish there weren't so many work arounds and 3rd party plug solutions. What was the idea behind skipping basic functionality when designing trueSpace?

Post by TheWickedWitchOfTheWeb // Apr 23, 2007, 4:31am

TheWickedWitchOfTheWeb
Total Posts: 858
pic
The function is in trueSpace now, but you are talking about a version of the software that is nearly ten years old (archaic). Many of the plugins are developed later and should be seen as wonderful extras. Have a look through the CK list, many of them are free, very useful and work extremely well, how many other 3D apps have that sort of generosity hand in hand?

Post by androidlove // Apr 23, 2007, 8:20am

androidlove
Total Posts: 32
I was just wondering. It seems the approach was to develop the advanced parts 1st. It's an interesting path.


I'm still using an older piece of music making software because the company has still yet to address the basic issues. However, I think it's very advanced.

Post by spacekdet // May 5, 2007, 12:14pm

spacekdet
Total Posts: 1360
pic
While it was written for a later version than 4.3, this might also provide some insight: http://forums.caligari.com/discus/messages/1585/9582.html?
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2022. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn