Thread

java error and UI issues

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

java error and UI issues // Bugs

1  |  

Post by deathbymeteor // Dec 23, 2007, 6:10pm

deathbymeteor
Total Posts: 5
Two separate problems I can't figure out. Apologies if I've missed related threads. (I find the single word search engine in these forums most restrictive.)


1) This one existed in 7.5 and has persisted in 7.51. When in the workspace, especially when the Panels tab or Settings tab is selected, the UI blinks during some kind of update every few seconds. It does it with the Library tab selected, too, but much less often. This is NOT the entire screen, it's TrueSpace updating certain parts of its UI. I have no graphics issues on my computer except with TS 7.5 and 7.51. When this happens, my primary toolbar goes invisible. It's there and redraws itself to some extent if I mouse over it, but it shouldn't do that. Pressing and holding the LMB to expand a toolbar submenu while this blink update happens will also make the expansion invisible, and also makes hints stop working. Unfortunately, this quick blink update also occasionally happens on the Model side but is almost never noticeable except when I'm in the Object Info box. Needless to say, this fundamental problem drives me away from the Workspace.


2) In 7.5 I followed a tutorial which showed me how the hotrod wheels were made to rotate using the Rotation Engine. As I recall, I followed the steps and made it happen and it worked just fine in 7.5, or at the very least I know I bored down to the script without troubles. Now in 7.51 I've returned to toe-dipping into Activities and I'm trying to hook up the Rotation Engine to the wheels of a different vehicle. Never mind that even with the axes lined up just like the hotrod and I can't teach the thing to define 'forward' motion as the front of the car. The real issue is much worse. If I bore down to the Rotation Engine script itself, make no changes, then exit by pressing the yellow triangle to go back 'up' a level in the heirarchy, I get a Java script error dialog and the RotEng is hosed from then on. Looks like this:


Source object: /Project/Space 3D/MyBentley2/Wheels/RearWheels/Rotation Engine

Error: Microsoft Jscript runtime error

Description: Type mismatch

Error code: 0x800a000d – (null)

Line: 24, Char: 1

Script text: NewWldMatrix.Mult(OwnerMatrix);


I've been a programmer for many years and this smacks of either an incompatibility between TS and Java, or something in TS is corrupted, but I don't have direct experience with Java or TS scripting / Windows scripting, so it behooves me to run this past you experts. I know I'll get disheartened with TS quickly if the Workspace drives me away and if the very first use of a shipped script blows up on me with no way to fix this. Help me, Obi Wan Kenobi, you're my only hope.


many thanks,

deathbymeteor

Post by Délé // Dec 23, 2007, 6:55pm

Délé
Total Posts: 1374
pic
I have experienced the flickering UI too. All I can say is that it will hopefully be addressed in the next version.


Looks like you found a scripting bug too. I tried it with the same results. Once you go inside of the script, it breaks. I'm not familiar with the function that's breaking but something does seem to be screwing up behind the scenes to me. It looks like Vladimir wrote the script so I will bring this to his attention on the beta forums.


I know that it can be a bit frustrating to learn a new workspace when bugs and such pop up. Keep at it though. I'm finding that they are improving stability and work flow with each new version. 7.51 is loads better then 7.0. They seem to be progressing pretty quickly IMO. There really is a lot of potential in the new workspace, especially for someone with a programming background.

Post by Norm // Dec 26, 2007, 6:25am

Norm
Total Posts: 862
pic
Hard to say what might be happening.
Where is the tutorial you were working on?
I know the rotation script was used in into tutorial in manual for plane's propeller spinning.
If you post the scene with problem, we can have a look and see what is happening.

Post by deathbymeteor // Dec 26, 2007, 9:46am

deathbymeteor
Total Posts: 5
Hard to say what might be happening.

Where is the tutorial you were working on?

I know the rotation script was used in into tutorial in manual for plane's propeller spinning.

If you post the scene with problem, we can have a look and see what is happening.


Thanks. Here's a scene with the rot eng problem. I can't find whatever tutorial it was that first led me to the hotrod and its rolling wheels.


If I edit the script by boring down using the orange squares in the LE and then go up a level with the orange triangle control, it blows up as described. It also refuses to allow me to define forward as the front of the car, no matter what I do with the axes. That's how I ended up trying to alter the script - the hotrod script has one difference, it uses GetAxisXGetAxisZ, not just GetAxisX, so I tried to make that change to the script. Boom.


I've experienced many problems going back and forth between workspace and modeler, regardless of bridge settings. It's likely I don't understand the constraints involved, like not using a simple texture applied on modeler side because then workspace won't be able to render (ugh), but as a programmer I get very frustrated that the software allows me to break it so easily. I would've much preferred two separate applications that don't try to synch up but support safe import/export. That way it won't corrupt a scene in both directions. I've tried many different bridge settings and sequences of bridge on/off/direction timing to no avail. So I almost never use the workspace. Given a choice between the two, the screen update issue in workspace and the great modeler controls leads me to go in this direction. If I use workspace, I decide never to go back to modeler side because I'm sure my work will become corrupted before I know about it, circumventing any practical save/backup scheme. But I digress.


thanks again, happy holidays and happy new year,

R

Post by Norm // Dec 27, 2007, 6:17am

Norm
Total Posts: 862
pic
Well I have no crash here when navigating up and down the hierarchy. Sure seems to be a lot of "pivot" objects in the scenario. I suspect you are fighting them and axis. Pivot is a helper type object, used to help us rotate objects. I would say remove them, set the car up so it has axis the way you want and you should have better chance of getting to work.

You mention editing the script but I do not know what edits you try to make.
What type of development env do you run? VS2005?

I would suggest taking the rotation engine out of this scenario or creating a different scenario and figuring out how it works; use two cylinders for wheels and another for axle. Get it working in such a simple scenario and then go after the car.

I remember seeing the hot rod scenario at some point in time. Perhaps it was the "Mouse chasing object" from trueSpace7.1 era. When you activated that object, the hotrod object chased the mouse pointer. Wheels did not turn left/right but whole car turned. Wonder if that was the scenario that led to this scenario.

It helps when folks get precise instructions/direction on what you are doing to get to a certain point you describe. I believe you would find more folks take an interest in answering if they can get to the same page as you are. Otherwise is a partial guessing game, which may or may not be helpful :o

Post by Délé // Dec 27, 2007, 6:33am

Délé
Total Posts: 1374
pic
Norm, I'm getting the same problem as deathbymeteor. I get error messages when I go inside and back out of the rotation engine. Then the script completely breaks. If I try to move the hotrod, I get more error messages.


Here is a video of what is happening to me. This occurs with the rotation engine from the library too. There seems to be a problem with the function NewWldMatrix.Mult(OwnerMatrix);.

Post by Norm // Dec 27, 2007, 6:44am

Norm
Total Posts: 862
pic
Not sure what to say Dele. Here when I move the car the wheels are turning. Some turn wrong way but that could just be axis pointing differently.

Johny is suggesting that it could be an environment issue of some sort. Try installing the directX SDK. Also there is a free edition of vs2005, which could be installed to help rectify the scenario.

Post by stan // Dec 27, 2007, 6:59am

stan
Total Posts: 1240
pic
same problem here ..even when script is modified so NewWldMatrix.Mult(OwnerMatrix) is working in a droplist for NewWldMatrix..
Norm why should a regular user need to have directx sdk installed..:confused: it maybe the reason but still.

Post by Norm // Dec 27, 2007, 7:04am

Norm
Total Posts: 862
pic
if it is an env issue, installing the SDK might install a dll or such that corrects the scenario. Because some are not getting errors and some are, there is a difference other than trueSpace that is at the heart of this scenario. Both Johny and I have visual studio and the SDK installed on our machines and we get no errors as described. I suspect outside influences may be at play here.

Post by stan // Dec 27, 2007, 7:13am

stan
Total Posts: 1240
pic
I have visual studio installed too..shouldn't the dll be part of the install for truespace if its missing? when the install gets to the redistributables part it should install it one would think..

Post by deathbymeteor // Dec 27, 2007, 12:36pm

deathbymeteor
Total Posts: 5
Thanks a million Dele and Norm for thinking about this. Dele's video shows exactly what I'm seeing.


Norm, did you bore down to the script and then back out? It wasn't clear that you did that when you mentioned the wheels turning for you. They turn for me, too, UNTIL I bore down to the script and try to back out.


I have a somewhat older version of MS C# installed and all that .net stuff might be involved. I don't use it, so I could get rid of it.


And lately a lot of web pages (e.g. planit3d) seem to be launching Sun Java which itself does some background updates to itself.


Could either of these have any effect on the scripting DLLs used by TS?


thanks,

R

Post by Norm // Dec 27, 2007, 1:02pm

Norm
Total Posts: 862
pic
Yes I went right down into the script editor.
I figure something besides trueSpace is at play here.

Post by deathbymeteor // Dec 27, 2007, 2:28pm

deathbymeteor
Total Posts: 5
Any help (from anyone) on figuring out exactly what sorts of things might be at play would be appreciated. For me these are black boxes.


I wonder if this has anything to do with the fact that my Global and Local Wind objects also do not work. Just as soon as I start a sim they drop down to near zero size/power and hover around 0 or 0.05 until sim is ended, after which direction has changed and eventually they just stop reacting properly to basic controls like move, rotate and scale.


I wonder if fixing that rot eng issue via some non-TS correction might also fix global and local wind, and possibly other issues I seem to have with TS that others don't have. (too many to name)


Any suggestions of what else (or what *kinds* of things) in my system might be used by TS or otherwise influence TS scripting would be greatly appreciated.


thanks,

R

Post by Johny // Dec 28, 2007, 12:53am

Johny
Total Posts: 672
pic
...why should a regular user need to have directx sdk installed..:confused: it maybe the reason but still.
You can learn many things with dx sdk help file :D

I have visual studio installed too..shouldn't the dll be part of the install for truespace if its missing? when the install gets to the redistributables part it should install it one would think..

Stan, are you also installed lasted DirectX SDK on your computer?

I tested this Rotate Engine on both my Xp and Vista computer but all run well here. (I have VS2005 and DirectX SDK installed on my computer).

EDIT:

I just uninstalled ms DirectX sdk from my computer, reboot and run tS7.51 try again with rotate engine,and as before not got any error msg and all run well here.

I'm not try to uninstall VS2005. I only uninstall DX SDK because plan to install newer version.

Ok, now forget about environment issue (I actually asked Norm to ask someone to test on computer without VS and DX sdk installed for see if he got error msg or not):D

For who got error msg with this rotate engine; First try with reset tS7.51 to default configuration (CRTL+Shift+R). for test if this try can solve your problem or not.

If not try to uninstall then reinstall your tS7.51 (if you affraid lose of your data, you can install again tS7.51 on same computer at different folder. say "C:\trueSpace751test" for example). After you install reinstall tS7.51, please try again with same steps that cause you got error msg with rotate engine. Hope this can solve your problem.

If you still get error msg until reinstalled tS7.51 I guess it must cause by environment issue. (maybe vs, dx , msxml , or others thing. Remmember MAYBE bacause I dont know how insteneal script process inside tS). I can't help more with this problem because I dont get any error msg. But I hope new reinstall tS7.51 can solve this problem (maybe you changed some tS7.51 default link or disconnected it by accident) :p

Post by Johny // Dec 30, 2007, 3:13am

Johny
Total Posts: 672
pic
Can someone with this error test on his computer for see if "reset tS7.51 to default configuration" or "new reinstall tS7.51" can solve this problem or not?

I can not help with test it on my computer because I dont get any error msg with this rotate engine. I already try several things but still not get error msg.:o

You can see on below video that there're not error msg on here
http://www.stage6.com/user/Johnyt/video/1985768/tS7-51-Rotate-Engine1

Post by GraySho // Jan 27, 2008, 5:37am

GraySho
Total Posts: 695
pic
Just for the record, I have exactly the same UI issue, toolbar disappears until I mouse over it. Only happens in workspace, not on model side. On model side it just flickers, but it stays visible. I've reported it about a year ago if I remember correctly. No driver updates helped here (Sapphire Radeon X600 Pro, variours catalyst/omega versions). Every other program works allright.
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2024. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn