windows error

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

windows error // Tech Forum

1  |  

Post by bkjernisted // May 17, 2009, 7:49am

bkjernisted
Total Posts: 24
After using dribble

and 3Delight when I shut down Truespace I get the error "truespace caused unhandled exception and needs to close." Sometimes a

dialog box opens up and you can pick "attempt to save scene." I did a system restore to an earlier part of the day but this did

not fix anything. In what order should I

uninstall things to try to rectify these problems. When I shut down truespace and restart it the object is still there but not in 3Delight render mode. When I save a 3Delight render and open it later with 3Delight open the object is in the front,side,and top windows. However there is nothing in the perspective window. Should the saved 3Delight render reopen in the perspective viewport? Thanks!

Post by bkjernisted // May 17, 2009, 8:19am

bkjernisted
Total Posts: 24
When I save to file I am able to open the file with quicktime,photoshop, irfanview etc. but not truespace. Is this normal? This post should be below the one following.

Post by bkjernisted // May 17, 2009, 10:00am

bkjernisted
Total Posts: 24
When I try to load a saved render from dribble ouput I get the message "an invalid character was found in text content." At the

top of this error box is written "Load XML Malformed XML Error" Is it normal not to be able to load a saved render into

truespace?

Post by bkjernisted // May 17, 2009, 10:07am

bkjernisted
Total Posts: 24
When I shut down truespace and restart it the object is still there but not in 3Delight render mode. When I save a 3Delight render and open it later with 3Delight the object is in the front,side,and top windows. However there is nothing in the perspective window. Should the saved 3Delight render reopen in the perspective viewport? Thanks!

Post by bkjernisted // May 17, 2009, 11:12am

bkjernisted
Total Posts: 24
Do registry cleaners work and should I be cleaning my registry.

Post by Jack Edwards // May 17, 2009, 1:39pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Bk, I'm not sure what you are asking exactly. A render is a 2D bitmap image. A scene file contains your scene 3D data.

There isn't any 3delight mode. :confused:

Post by bkjernisted // May 17, 2009, 3:40pm

bkjernisted
Total Posts: 24
Jack does that scene file contain your render? I have 3Delight installed on truespace. There is a plugin called dribble to do this just like you have a plugin for Yafaray. When I try to load an image file into truespace through the dribble panel I get an error message " an invalid character was found in text content" Should you be able to save a render and then reload it back into Truespace? It seems like truespace won't let you load a picture with some html attached. I don't know if it is punctuation or the word description of the file.

Post by Jack Edwards // May 17, 2009, 10:13pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
No there's no scene data in a render. It's just an output image - JPG, BMP, PNG, TGA, TIF, etc. You can load images into trueSpace as textures for use in materials or shaders.

Scenes are saved and loaded via the File menu or one of the Libraries. Any renders you make are not included in the Scene file.

Post by Johny // May 18, 2009, 2:05am

Johny
Total Posts: 672
pic
Hello Brent, thanks for pm me about this topic.

Brent I'm affraid I can not give satisfy answer because I dont have Dribble plugin installed on my computer.

But you can try below tips and wish others Dribble user can give better asnwer of your problem.

1. Try to repost your problem with include tS's screen capture of your problem. This will make others easy to analysis your problem. (also dont forget to include name of file you want to open, etc...)

2. dont forget for include information about your OS version and graphics driver version.

3. Please check your firewall or system defence software setting, maybe their block Dribble to execute/run "3delight" render engine.

4. For better solution about dribble problem, I think its better if you contact SiW.



Brent, before you try about 4 tips, first try with reset tS to its default configuration by press: "CRTL+Shift+R" shortcut key. This Crtl+Shift+R ussually solve any tS errors:), but after press this shortcut key, you need information on this link again (http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showpost.php?p=73567&postcount=21) if you still want use VL.

HTH!

Post by Johny // May 19, 2009, 2:29am

Johny
Total Posts: 672
pic
Dear Johny,

You have received a new private message at trueSpace Community Forums from bkjernisted, entitled "CRTL+Shift+R".

To read the original version, respond to, or delete this message, you must log in here:
http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/private.php

This is the message that was sent:
***************
I tried the above command. Now my computer will not render in virtualight ot lightworks. Now can I just run the VLrar file to fix this. The above command did not fix my errors. Should I have rebooted my computer before opening and closing truespace. What do I need to open a rar file or will it open on it's own. Is there a free utility to open the rar? I should probably just reinstall truespace. Would you recommend that. Then I would not have to run the rar file and a reinstall might get rid of the errors on my computer. Thanks!
***************



Hello Brent, I post your question on this thread. Wish it usefull for others beginner users and also wish you'll give fast answer from other members.


1. After press "CRTL+Shift+R" shortcut key, do you still get "truespace caused unhandled exception and needs to close" error msg?


2. Brent, you said after "CRTL+Shift+R" you can not render using VL or LW.

Are you on "Workspace" view or on "Model" view?

VL and LW rendering only available on "Model" view. Plesase switch to "Model" view first. Then Right click on top render icon tool for select render engine. (look on attached img for ilustrate).


3. After "CTRL+SHIFT+R" key, you not need to reboot your windows before opening and closing tS. You even not need to rerun your tS. After "CRTL+SHIFT+R" all will run well witout need to exit and then rerun tS. Except others resident app running on your system cause the problem.


4. Not, You dont need to reinstall your tS.


5. You can download free 7Zip on www.7-zip.org (http://www.7-zip.org) for open rar file.


6. What "VLrar" file you're talking about?



Brent for more detail information about your problem, please try to post screen capture of your steps that trigger that error for get better answer. You can download camstudio (http://camstudio.org/) for record your steps the zip it and attach it here for make us got more detail information about your problem.


Brent, if you still have problem, please keep post it here on this thread for get answer from others member who now better than me.

HTH!
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn