Workspace/legacy performance differences

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Workspace/legacy performance differences // Tech Forum

1  |  

Post by tatts // Apr 22, 2009, 3:30pm

tatts
Total Posts: 145
Not sure how to really ask this but. I wanted to save my flyer as an .OBJ file on the model side to bring into and experiment with kerkythea.


But as soon as i switched to model/legacy view, I got lag right away. My scene is at 70,000 verts which really is'nt to much compare to what others do. Anyway on the workspace side this scene is extremely smooth. Not sure why it would lag in legacy though. you would think it would run abit slower when using virtual lights which is used in workspace. Any ideas.


my pc specs are pent dual core @ 1.66 ghrz/ 2 gb ram / with nvidia geforce 9600 gt 512 mb.

Post by tatts // Apr 23, 2009, 1:47am

tatts
Total Posts: 145
Model side just does'nt like me anymore. :(

I deleted out one of my planes and the total vertex count was at about 47,000.

I get lag, and the screen was getting weird, My icons would disappear for a few moments. Is this maybe one of the reasons some don't like crossing the bridge? In workspace it is clean. What I don't understand is that the legacy side is older and no lights are displayed, and yet the vertex count is'nt very high eiither. I know my pc is well good enough to run it, yet I get lag when I cross the bridge to it?


I can have more than double the vertex count in workspace and still run very smooth.

Post by TomG // Apr 23, 2009, 3:42am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
The workspace will handle much higher poly counts than the Model (legacy) side and still keep running smoothly - one of the benefits of being built on DX9 (while the Model side is DX8). Can't say if your poly count is enough for this effect to become obvious, but other factors can come in to play.


Is there any transparency, for instance? The model side wouldn't handle that so well. You might want to turn the Bridge off once over on the Model side (assuming you are just exporting and not looking to make any edits). It's often best to just switch on the bridge when you need it and leave it switched off otherwise.


Hard to say, of course, without seeing a screen grab to see what you are dealing with - but the answer is that yes, the Model side is generally much slower.


It could also be a driver issue, since this is old DX8 on the Model side. Icons disappearing would suggest that might be an issue.


If you can post a screen grab, then that might help. Also, if you are just exporting, simply don't move the view etc, just go straight to clicking on the LUUV option, that way you won't need to worry about the screen update rate on the Model side ;)


HTH!

Tom

Post by tatts // Apr 23, 2009, 4:27am

tatts
Total Posts: 145
When I first get to the legacy side, this is what happens, and it will stay like that till I start selecting icons that I do see. And when I move the screen around it does the same. Except also, As im trying to rotate, the scene does'nt move till I release the mouse button. A sorta weird lag. On my other pc that has XP it is the oppisite. legacy runs great, where as workspace did'nt work so good. Both Pc's have the latest direct x 9 installed.


http://i372.photobucket.com/albums/oo161/tatts24/heelflip099.jpg

Post by TomG // Apr 23, 2009, 5:34am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
What driver versions are you using (and what cards - you have the card for one system listed below, but what is the card and driver on the other)? This one looks most like a driver issue given that the 2D icons have vanished.


HTH!

Tom

Post by Nez // Apr 23, 2009, 5:43am

Nez
Total Posts: 1102
pic
the other thing that may be worth a try, especially if you are only using model side to access export function is to turn of all real time rendering on modelside - not just wireframe view within DirectX or OpenGL modes but to basic wireframe only view mode (on my setup, it's on a little flyout in the top right corner of the screen, see attached).

This tends to speed things up quite a bit for me...

Post by Mr. 3d // Apr 23, 2009, 11:57am

Mr. 3d
Total Posts: 747
pic
Here's something a little off topic, but it may be useful ?
Considering that I only use the LightWorks Render Engine on the Model Side (I still need to open Jack's YafaRay;)), this means that I only model on the 6.6 Model side. My point being, not only do I save my scenes in progressive steps as "Scene files (*.RsScn)", but I also save them as TS6 Files "Caligari Scenes *.scn"....I have never lost a texture on an object when reloading a scene made from the Model Side and saved as the TS6 Files "Caligari Scenes *.scn";)

Post by tatts // Apr 23, 2009, 12:05pm

tatts
Total Posts: 145
This pc, I installed this video card about a month and a half ago and I grabbed the latest drivers then, I'll recheck and make sure I have the lastest drivers again though.


The other PC is a pent 4 2.66 ghrz, with 1 gb ram and geforce 6600 256 mb. On this pc Ts 7.6 ran abit slow, model side was ok, but for some reason workspace was abit slow and lagged. TS is the reason I actually upgraded my pc and video card, Well that and also cause I wanted to start getting into using shaders and water effects from nvidia physX. My pent 4 is capable of rendering shaders but not without a major toll on the frame rate.


Thanks NEZ, I could always do that too. :)


@ Tom, I'll recheck my drivers and let you know.

Post by tatts // Apr 23, 2009, 1:02pm

tatts
Total Posts: 145
Ok i grabbed the lastest drivers, It still takes abit getting over to model side and the screen still loses the icons temperarely but it I can atleast move the screen around without so much lag (it still lags a little but the screen does'nt stay still anymore when im trying rotate).


I will try saving to the ts6 files as mr.3d suggested and see if that helps anymore too. Just as long as I can get my models to legacy to export im happy.


Are there going to be any other exporters made for workspace? Or is anyone working on a plugin to exporter either OBJ or 3ds? I wish I knew how, cause I would. :)

Post by Nez // Apr 26, 2009, 10:24pm

Nez
Total Posts: 1102
pic
I understand Jack was planning an obj exporter for workspace but he's got a lot on with Yafaray, his video course and all. I belive Frootee's doing a lot of work on obj too off the back of his fluid-sim plug-in, so keep your eyes peeled for news, but as far as I know obj export is still only available through Model side (use Luuv, not the built in 'save as' option from the menus), for the moment anyway.

Post by Jack Edwards // Apr 26, 2009, 10:54pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
The obj and 3ds format import/export in my scene exporter plugin I'm working on is just a bonus to using the FBX SDK. Froo's will likely be more robust for OBJ.

BTW, for the 6600 chips I found the older 9x.xx drivers give better performance than the current ones. :rolleyes:

Post by tatts // Apr 27, 2009, 8:46am

tatts
Total Posts: 145
I've installed the LUUV plugin that was in the tsx folder and it only seems to open files and not export them. I've been using the 3ds exporter instead.

Post by Jack Edwards // Apr 27, 2009, 5:36pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
It's something like Alt+click to export, if you leave the mouse over the icon, it tells you. ;)
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn