Add loops

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Add loops // Tech Forum

1  |  

Post by fahembree // Apr 15, 2009, 5:48pm

fahembree
Total Posts: 123
pic
I wanted to start with a flat plane (doubled sided on workspace side) and then use dynamic sweep to sweep the 4 edges up, scale, and then repeat this process a couple of times. No problem in doing this, Then I wanted to add edge loops to the corners. I seem to be able to do this for 2 locations, but on the 3 try it seems to not be able to finish the loop on 3 area. Ok, so then I tried to finish it manully by adding an edge, but that did not seem to work either. When I try to use SDS on the object a couple of strange openings appear unexpectedly in a couple of locations.?

I am uploading a video in zip form to see this. Sorry about the quality of video.

Post by TomG // Apr 16, 2009, 3:42am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
The video doesn't play for me, just flashes up one image for a split second, then goes to blackness for a second, then flashes up another image for a split second, and so on.


If you could either regrab the video, or repost it with a different codec (as I'm not sure what step has introduced this rather odd effect, the capture or the encoding) then we can take a look! Unfortunately I don't get enough from the text description to know for sure what you are trying to do.


Even a few screen grab stills might be enough.


HTH!

Tom

Post by fahembree // Apr 16, 2009, 6:39am

fahembree
Total Posts: 123
pic
Sorry about the video, as I had trouble playing and only seems to play with Quicktime. I have attached a couple of images that may clarify. I stared with a flat plane and the then sweeped the edges upward 3 or 4 times and scaled them between each sweep. Then added loops, but the 3rd loop would not complete. So I did a SDS just to seem how it looked and then I saw the opening in the shape.

Post by Jack Edwards // Apr 16, 2009, 7:22am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
If you have wholes in your shape when doing SDS, that means that either the vertices aren't welded together or there's an extra polygon connecting things that it probably shouldn't. Using the heal tool might solve these problems for you quickly.

Post by TomG // Apr 16, 2009, 8:19am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
Since the shape wouldnt take much to recreate from the beginning, you could add the vertices for those loops onto the plane before sweeping, then when you sweep, the parts you are adding here via edge loops would be already there.


The holes definitely suggest something is wrong with the geometry somewhere too. This could be the cause of the add loop problems, or perhaps adding the loops caused the holes (and so stopped other loops from working).


Given that a loop goes all the way around a mesh, I'm not sure where your loops went from these images - loop 1 I can see the outer edges too, but where did it go to get back to where it began?


HTH!

Tom

Post by RichLevy // Apr 16, 2009, 10:39am

RichLevy
Total Posts: 1140
pic
If you are using the MM, than check to make sure you do not have any overlapping vertices, that will stop a loop from working also.


I see you are not using the MM but I threw it out there in case you ever run into that problem :)


Rich

Post by fahembree // Apr 16, 2009, 5:45pm

fahembree
Total Posts: 123
pic
All modeling was in workspace. I was not creating anything and was just expermenting. Even though the add loop command does not seem to be able to do 2 loops on same side, it does not seem like the last incomplete edge on the one face should cause the edges to split apart (come ungluded so to speak) when applying SDS. I'm attached another video. Hope this code is playable.

Post by Tiles // Apr 16, 2009, 9:54pm

Tiles
Total Posts: 1037
pic
Yes, the loop tools in Workspace are unfortunately not really useful. They fail too often and mostly selects everything besides the things i want to select. I always end in switching to Modeler and use the Polytools instead ...

Post by transient // Apr 16, 2009, 10:49pm

transient
Total Posts: 977
pic
Yep, Polytools rocks. Don't crash, either. :)

Post by TomG // Apr 17, 2009, 4:29am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
Can't view the swf direct on this machine (swfs are usually embedded into a web page for browsing, with a player built around them), so I still can't see this video :(


Thanks!

Tom

Post by Nez // Apr 17, 2009, 4:49am

Nez
Total Posts: 1102
pic
I found I could open it if I saved it to my desktop, right clicked on it and used 'open, with' and selecting I.E.

It did then play in I.E. without specifically embedding it in a web-page - but I can't offer any advice as I don't use the workspace tools...

Post by TomG // Apr 17, 2009, 5:04am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
That worked. Not sure about it being a partial loop - what happens if you add a face on top and let the loop go all the way round back to where it started? You can always delete the top faces afterward if you want the object to be hollowed out.


I'd also try exiting point edit after the first loop, and then re-entering to add the next. You might test to see if the first loop alone introduced any problems with the SDS, and check to see if it has done anything unusual that could be stopping the second one from working.


Again in this case I would suggest just adding the extra vertices on the flat face and then beginning the sweep, which will draw those extra edges while you sweep, rather than sweeping and adding the edges after.


HTH!

Tom

Post by fahembree // Apr 17, 2009, 5:55am

fahembree
Total Posts: 123
pic
Thanks, That's a good idea to add extra edges before sweeping. Didn't think of trying that. I should have zipped up the video with the html file as you need the html file to play and display vido correctly. (Site would not let me upload html file as a separate file and didn't tking of using zip).

I started with a plane as there is a option to make a plane double sided, but for creating a cube this apparently is not an option. Noting important here, just expermening:)
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn