high poly modeling question

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

high poly modeling question // Tech Forum

1  |  

Post by tatts // Apr 8, 2009, 9:59am

tatts
Total Posts: 145
I'm curious how most people here do their high poly models. up till now i've always aimed at creating models as a single mesh. But with my bluenose wip, I beginning to reallize real fast that this is not as easy as low poly stuff im use to.


I have been creating this model in parts and using the object union tool too join the parts and create a single mesh from it. (the parts are not touching each other when i join them, keeping the parts unaltered)

The problem is, when i go into edit mode everything is selected of course and makes it hard to work with. I have tried just adding a texture to each part as i create it, this way i can select by texture and hide what I need using that. but with the texture applied it also makes it hard to see the plans i am working with. more or less just makes it a head ache.


I was reading in the manual that there was a capsulate tool, is that like a glue object tool? do you even join the parts or would you normally just leave them seperate until your done and just join them in the end, if you join them?


The main reason I am asking is because, after using the object union tool a couple times I started having problems when i was editing the hull. Every time i added an edge, the edge would appear but then the whole mesh would turn green and be selected there after. I'm not sure why it is doing this, I was thinking maybe because of the intersecting parts?

Post by RichLevy // Apr 8, 2009, 10:23am

RichLevy
Total Posts: 1140
pic
There is a layers script in the garage. Than just place different types of articles on a layer ie ship hull on one layer, masts on another layer. Rigging would have a layer, decorations on another and such. Combining all of those elements will also create a nightmare when it comes time to texture and animate. At a later date you would be able to add additional items, or delete placeholders items for better models and such at a later date with no problems. It's all about keeping your models and the modeling organized and easy to keep track of.


HTH


Rich

Post by TomG // Apr 8, 2009, 11:06am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
Best not to Boolean things together unless / until necessary. This can be handy when a model is done and complete, to simplify things for tS (as per the "Seal of Good Modeling chapter"), but it can be problematic to do it too early in the life of a model.


Encapsulate groups things together without actually fusing them together - you can move them all as one part. But then you can drill down into the hierarchy (like going into folders on your hard drive) and move separate parts of groups inside that - something you can't do when you boolean.


If groups get too deep then that can slow down things in tS a bit, hence the recommendation to boolean at some point in the model's life.


It's all something of an art - what you encapsulate, what you boolean, and into what groups, and when.


Layers are definitely good while working, so you can turn parts on and off and keep your workspace free and clear. If you are tweaking the hull, do you really need to see all that rigging? It will just get in the way of your view, risk you selecting it by accident, etc.


So I'd do layers and encapsulated groups while modeling. Once I was absolutely sure something was finished, I would work out what booleans might be good in combination with what reworked encapsulations, and rework it then into a final form.


HTH!

Tom

Post by Jack Edwards // Apr 8, 2009, 11:22am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Also make sure you're using the merge geometry tool and not a boolean union. As the union option will change the geometry, whereas the merge will simply collapse it to a single mesh.

Post by jamesmc // Apr 8, 2009, 11:43am

jamesmc
Total Posts: 2566
Actually, it's why I like model side to name parts in layers and then use the glue tool.

The hiearchy still remains in the LE and it is much easier to organize by function or even materials with layers.

I've even exported some meshes as an OBJ file, so I can keep the integrity of the file and then bring them back later.

Helps too when I use an external painting program to swish on it. :)

Post by tatts // Apr 8, 2009, 2:41pm

tatts
Total Posts: 145
k thanks, the encapsolate tool is what I need so I will start using that.

Post by Jack Edwards // Apr 8, 2009, 9:58pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
"Encapsulate in 3D" creates a hierarchy which is probably what you want. "Encapsulate" groups but the objects don't share a transform node.
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn