TS7.6 question

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

TS7.6 question // Tech Forum

1  |  

Post by Jalm // Mar 19, 2009, 7:26pm

Jalm
Total Posts: 21
pic
Well, at last I got a decent video card and now TS7.6 works fine in my computer. Well, after the shock due to the new look :D (I was using 3.2) I tried to render the only thing I could build, a sphere, but it shows a message that says: "No offline render installed. To get offline renderer, visit www.caligari.com...".


What does this mean ?


Thanks.

Post by jamesmc // Mar 19, 2009, 7:37pm

jamesmc
Total Posts: 2566
Well, at last I got a decent video card and now TS7.6 works fine in my computer. Well, after the shock due to the new look :D (I was using 3.2) I tried to render the only thing I could build, a sphere, but it shows a message that says: "No offline render installed. To get offline renderer, visit www.caligari.com...".

What does this mean ?

Thanks.
It means that you can't use a third party render engine in WorkSpace without buying a license for it and installing it.

What WorkSpace has, is real time rendering. It's like the OPEN/GL real time in other software, but uses DirectX. (what you see in games)

On the model side, there are two render engines.

Currently, Jack Edwards has a render engine in Beta for WorkSpace. It appears to be quite capable.

You can visit the image gallery and look at Parva's work which was done in real time on the WorkSpace side.

http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showpost.php?p=96797&postcount=1

There are a lot of features on the WorkSpace side. Be sure and ask questions often, plenty of good help here on the forums.

Post by Jack Edwards // Mar 20, 2009, 5:18am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
That button was for VRay for trueSpace which is no longer available for purchase.

I'm currently creating a Yafaray exporter that lets us use the free render engine Yafaray from within trueSpace. You can read more about it here:
http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?t=7782

I had to resolve some computer issues, but a new beta is due out in a few days -- soon as finish up some changes and we get the help files done so that you guys don't have to fly it blind. ;)

I'm looking to integrate other render engines as well, so hopefully this will only be the first. The next one to keep an eye out for is Kerkythea. Currently you can already use Kerkythea to render stills by exporting the scene in 3ds format from Model side, then doing your texture and lighting inside Kerkythea.

Post by Jalm // Mar 20, 2009, 6:10pm

Jalm
Total Posts: 21
pic
Thanks,


That means that TS7.6 doesn't come with its own renderer ? :confused:

Post by spacekdet // Mar 20, 2009, 6:37pm

spacekdet
Total Posts: 1360
pic
Workspace has realtime DX 'render'. Think of it as an instant render with no waiting.
Model side still has Lightworks renderer built in.

You can also use 3DeLight (http://www.3delight.com/en/index.php/step_1) renderer by using the Dribble (http://truespace.coolpowers.com/dribble/) exporter.
Jack is working on an exporter to Yafaray.

You can also export to other packages, for example one that starts with the letter 'K' and rhymes with 'Kerkythea'.

So lots of rendering options are available. Don't panic.

Post by jamesmc // Mar 20, 2009, 6:39pm

jamesmc
Total Posts: 2566
Thanks,

That means that TS7.6 doesn't come with its own renderer ? :confused:

It has two render engines on the model side.

Disregard the V-ray render on the image, it is no longer available for purchase.

Post by TomG // Mar 23, 2009, 2:10am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
tS7.6 has three engines.


The real-time engine works directly in the workspace. You can save stills or animations (as a series of stills, at a rate of 0.5 to 2 seconds per frame, so incredibly fast). This will be exactly what you see in the workspace, no raytracing etc, but a great level of realism is still possible.


The other two engines are found in the Model side (misnamed, wish we'd called it legacy or something, but there you go). This is tS6.6 embedded as a giant plugin. It has all the old tS6.6 tools, and all the old tS6.6 render engines, namely Lightworks and Virtualight.


To render under those, swap to the Model side and use the render icon there.


HTH!

Tom

Post by Steinie // Mar 23, 2009, 3:00am

Steinie
Total Posts: 3667
pic
You know it is not too late to rename the tab Modeler/Legacy in the next patch. This would clear up a lot of headaches for the years to come.

Post by Jack Edwards // Mar 23, 2009, 4:43am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
I agree Steinie. Made that same point myself last year. :rolleyes:

Post by spacekdet // Mar 23, 2009, 7:04am

spacekdet
Total Posts: 1360
pic
You know it is not too late to rename the tab Modeler/Legacy in the next patch. This would clear up a lot of headaches for the years to come.


Don't name it 'Modeler!
Too close to Model...which it isn't.
Workspace would be ok- consistent, anyway.
'Legacy' is good.

In a perfect future world, 'Model' would be reduced to menu item 'Import'.

Post by Steinie // Mar 23, 2009, 7:54am

Steinie
Total Posts: 3667
pic
Unless I misunderstood, I suggested the ONE tab to be changed to Modeler/Legacy and assumed the other tab would remain the same..."workSpace"

My suggestion was to add the Legacy part. That way older tutorials would still be clear.

Post by spacekdet // Mar 23, 2009, 3:58pm

spacekdet
Total Posts: 1360
pic
The misunderestimation was on my part, thought you were talking about renaming both tabs.
If Model goes away will there even be a need for a WS tab?
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn