just some vray questions about shadow artifacts

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

just some vray questions about shadow artifacts // Tech Forum

1  |  

Post by Leif // Dec 1, 2008, 3:35pm

Leif
Total Posts: 276
pic
Hi

the big ball has a spotlight almost right above it pointing down.

How to get rid of the blocky shadow artifacts?


gi and one spotlight with shadow enabled:

16587

gi and one spotlight, no shadows

16585

workspace d3d render to show object resolution:

16586

Post by brotherx // Dec 2, 2008, 12:45am

brotherx
Total Posts: 538
pic
have you tried it with soft shadows?

Post by Leif // Dec 2, 2008, 7:17am

Leif
Total Posts: 276
pic
Yes :cool:

The artifacts reminds me of shadowmap resolution issues, but how can that be!

The scene is to learn vray lights, gi settings and material settings.

Post by brotherx // Dec 2, 2008, 8:02am

brotherx
Total Posts: 538
pic
have you tried changing the anti-aliasing settings?

if you post the scene, I'll give it a shot on my PC at home in case it is a machine funny...

Post by Leif // Dec 2, 2008, 10:11am

Leif
Total Posts: 276
pic
Hi brotherx

Adaptive aa is used here, though antialiasing is not the issue here :)


The blocks go away if the big ball is subd twice. Is there another way than to increase mesh resolution?


16600

Post by brotherx // Dec 2, 2008, 10:29am

brotherx
Total Posts: 538
pic
get the same problems. played with some settings but no luck. even tried v.high GI settings. it's a bug I would say...

Post by Leif // Dec 2, 2008, 10:34am

Leif
Total Posts: 276
pic
Well thanks anyway!


I did not intend to have the spot pointing straight down, but once I saw those shadow block things appear I started hunting for answers as to what is happening and how to straighten it out!

Post by frank // Dec 2, 2008, 4:12pm

frank
Total Posts: 709
pic
In the first render, the artifacts on the sphere remind me of what you might see on a lower polycount object without Autofacet enabled for the shader.


One remedy might be to enable Autofaceting, use SDS, or do a Smooth Quad Divide or two.

Post by Leif // Dec 2, 2008, 6:59pm

Leif
Total Posts: 276
pic
Hi frank.

Yes it does.

Well one sds layer, still some faceting (I'm picky here :) ).

16603


Two sds layers, smoothed it out.

16604


A rougher sphere with smooth normals looks like this,

Shading is smooth where lit by spotlight but faceted down under

(not the facets themselves, but the distinct *difference* in normal smoothing which can be seen between the upper half and lower half of the ball).

16605
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn