cubic map images

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

cubic map images // Tech Forum

1  |  

Post by nigec // Nov 28, 2008, 2:28am

nigec
Total Posts: 314
pic
Is there away to create 6 panoramic view renders for cubic game engines, ie Scream, Pipmak or Cpage.. i asked a while back

At the moment its a case of modeling in TS and using Bryce to create the images which is a pain in the a** if you need to have a scene rendered in TS to make an animated puzzle as its virtually impossible to make the shadows, camera and textures match


I don't have Vray so it would need to be model side


PS will vray 1.52 that came with 7.51 work with 7.6?

Post by RichLevy // Nov 28, 2008, 3:08am

RichLevy
Total Posts: 1140
pic
You need to create a cubic map image of the scene you have created to place in a game engine, right?

I made a python script many years ago that did something like this. Unfortunately I doubt I would be able to find it. It really was noting much. Create 6 cameras in the scene, take a picture from each camera and save.


Requirements,

each camera needs to be pointing at 90 degrees from origin in another direction.

each camera needs to be able to see 90 degrees of FOV of the scene, to much at it will lap into the cubic planes next to it, less and there will not be complete coverage of the cubic planes.


This is the basic algorythm, if someone has something ready, maybe they will post it, else maybe this will help you do it yourself.


Rich

Post by robert // Nov 28, 2008, 5:22am

robert
Total Posts: 609
pic
PS will vray 1.52 that came with 7.51 work with 7.6?


vray 1.53 is out and you can find it where you downloaded it originally, the minor upgrade is free.

Post by nigec // Nov 28, 2008, 6:21am

nigec
Total Posts: 314
pic
each camera needs to be able to see 90 degrees of FOV of the scene

thats the problem.. TS's FOV doesn't appear to be in degrees, its a *.*** field, i tried at 0.90 and the front, back, sides look ok but the top and bottom are wrong.. I'll keep trying lol



@ Robert, i was offered 7.51 by a guy who moved on to Studio Max, if Vray would of worked in 7.6 it would of been worth buying just to get Vray, but I'm not bothered if it wont work, lightworks is enough for what i use TS for

Post by robert // Nov 28, 2008, 6:49am

robert
Total Posts: 609
pic
Are you talking about buying 7.6? It's free and the older Vray does work. 1.53 is just a minor bug fix/upgrade from 1.521.

Post by nigec // Nov 28, 2008, 7:22am

nigec
Total Posts: 314
pic
I have 7.6... it would be 7.51 and Vray installers and would be buying, its at bargain price and a lump cheaper than Vray on its own, but like i said if it was going to be more hassle than its worth i'd just wait till after Xmas and buy the new one

Post by clintonman // Nov 28, 2008, 8:04am

clintonman
Total Posts: 304
pic
thats the problem.. TS's FOV doesn't appear to be in degrees, its a *.*** field, i tried at 0.90 and the front, back, sides look ok but the top and bottom are wrong.. I'll keep trying lol



@ Robert, i was offered 7.51 by a guy who moved on to Studio Max, if Vray would of worked in 7.6 it would of been worth buying just to get Vray, but I'm not bothered if it wont work, lightworks is enough for what i use TS for


I think the camera FOV is the angle in radians. So


90 degress*pi / 180 = 1.570795 radians

Post by nigec // Nov 28, 2008, 9:41am

nigec
Total Posts: 314
pic
For 512X512 it was 1.255 for a seamless image in Pipmak


if anyones interested, i've attached the 6 cameras and the simple room, a square room with numbers near the walls :)


thanks for all the help and advice


edit

oh bugger i only saved one camera :s

Post by nigec // Nov 28, 2008, 10:43am

nigec
Total Posts: 314
pic
a while ago i did a game so i re-used the scene, i used 6 cameras as Rich said, its a lot easier doing it with 6 cameras as a single camera moves slightly as it turns

Set the field of view at 1.255


any heres the result in Pipmak, the walls are tiled so you can see if there is any offset and it looks fine to me :)

Post by nigec // Nov 30, 2008, 1:29am

nigec
Total Posts: 314
pic
I found the best way to do it was create 6 cameras, as a single camera moves location slightly as it turns, FOV for 512x512 images is 1.255

camera1 = X-90.00 Y-0.00 Z 0.00

camera2 = X-90.00 Y 90.00 Z 0.00

camera3 = X 90.00 Y-0.00 Z -180.00

camera4 = X-90.00 Y-90.00 Z 0.00

camera5 = X 0.00 Y 0.00 Z 0.00

camera6 = X 180.00 Y 0.00 Z -0.00


check location x,y,z is zero for all and group them so you can move them around, ungroup when they are in the desired location, I had strange sh*t happen leaving the grouped as a camera isn't exactly an item you'd group!


My maps are for game engines so they are usually 1 pixel bigger, so i might need to tweak the FOV also you might need to 1024 X1024

Post by trueBlue // Dec 3, 2008, 10:08am

trueBlue
Total Posts: 1761
pic
Maybe this will help somewhat. It is a Camera that has six buttons that rotate the Camera as you have suggested.

Post by nigec // Dec 3, 2008, 10:22am

nigec
Total Posts: 314
pic
Thats awesome, thanks trueBlue :cool:


When i had the cameras grouped after awhile they flipped over for some reason or moved back to a prevoius point.


thanks again
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn