Actor in WS

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Actor in WS // Tech Forum

1  |  

Post by rjeff // Nov 25, 2008, 4:01am

rjeff
Total Posts: 1260
pic
is there any way to resclae the size of the actor in WS? Or am I gonna have to rescale my build.

Post by TomG // Nov 25, 2008, 6:32am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
The geometry, or the height of the camera etc? The actor has settings for his height, speed, and so on, these don't alter geometry but do alter where the camera is placed for example, at least if I remember correctly.


I also think the live space will over-ride any changes you make when you enter it, and I am not sure whether those kinds of settings are locked or not (ie if you change them, the live space will change them back, not just change them on entry).


Someone else with more avatar experience will be able to comment more accurately :)


HTH!

Tom


PS - look for such settings in the LE, maybe under different aspects of the actor they may not be exposed directly. Alternatively, they may be inside the actor object even, as I say I can't recall for sure.

Post by rjeff // Nov 25, 2008, 6:39am

rjeff
Total Posts: 1260
pic
Well what I want to achieve is to be able to do a walk around in my world I am building, but I have to build things on a small scale, right now the FPS navagation in WS is set to a much bigger man.

Post by trueBlue // Nov 25, 2008, 7:00am

trueBlue
Total Posts: 1761
pic
When you first enter into FPN mode, there is a Default Navigation Properties node created at the scene level. You can change any of these properties but it is important that this is then saved with your scene. Next time you enter into FPN mode, the changes that you made will be used. It is also important not to rename this node.

Post by rjeff // Nov 25, 2008, 8:06am

rjeff
Total Posts: 1260
pic
Thanks TB. As I am not totally familiar with WS where is this node located..ie how do you access it.

Post by trueBlue // Nov 25, 2008, 8:12am

trueBlue
Total Posts: 1761
pic
In the Link Editor after you select FP Navigation. Height is the attribute that you would want to change to a smaller number.

Post by rjeff // Nov 25, 2008, 9:01am

rjeff
Total Posts: 1260
pic
thanks much...that worked.
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn