animation renderer

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

animation renderer // Tech Forum

1  |  

Post by jazzer1960 // Oct 22, 2008, 2:21am

jazzer1960
Total Posts: 25
Hi all

I've just had to reinstall ts7.6 and now when i render animation in model side, i dont get the usuall options to render with. I used to use microsoft video 8 if i remember rightly. now i get microsft video 1, and it dosent give good end results as all items seem to have jagged edges. render on anti alias 4 and still no good. Any suggestions. Thanks.:confused:

Post by TomG // Oct 22, 2008, 4:26am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
Render to still images and compile in an external application that does such a thing. A forum search will reveal the many reasons why this is recommended good practice, but as a quick example - you are rendering 300 frames, each taking 10 minutes, a power out happens halfway through. All 150 frames are lost, and you are back to the start, hours of work are lost. With still images, just start rendering from where you left off, nothing is lost.


The other huge plus, applicable for you here, is you can try lots of codecs and settings to get the right amount of quality versus compression. To try that in tS, you need to re-render. With still images, you just need to recompile the video with the new codec from the still images, much faster!


The other threads go into this more, and list free apps to do this sort of thing.


The disappearance of the video type suggests more of a Windows update than a tS thing - tS (and any video making app) uses whatever codecs you

happen to have installed, and reinstalling tS wouldn't affect that afaik.


HTH!

Tom

Post by jazzer1960 // Oct 22, 2008, 5:15am

jazzer1960
Total Posts: 25
Thanks Tom

I see where youre coming from as i had to do system recovery then i found i couldnt render with usuall renderer. Will try what you said. Thanks:)

Post by TomG // Oct 22, 2008, 5:26am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
You could also do a search on the net for the missing codec, and reinstall, that should make the option pop back up in tS. Of course, if it is missing then rendering to still images and using the external compositing software won't help, as the compositing software won't offer it as an option either!


Let us know how you get on!


Thanks!

Tom

Post by jazzer1960 // Oct 23, 2008, 2:01am

jazzer1960
Total Posts: 25
Tom

Did a seach for codecs and found one called fastcodecs. All runs smoothly now. Did a quick anim to see what its like. Thanks again for help.:)

Post by jazzer1960 // Oct 23, 2008, 2:14am

jazzer1960
Total Posts: 25
Looks ok?:)

Post by TomG // Oct 23, 2008, 4:57am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
Yep, looks good! Reminds me of the game Mousetrap, I expect the ball to hit a switch, making a plastic guy jump into a swimming pool that makes a thing spin which... etc :)


Of course my initial thought is unlikely to be what anyone else was thinking! What are your plans for this one, if any?


Thanks!

Tom

Post by frootee // Oct 23, 2008, 5:07am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
looks good jazzer. Couple Questions.

Did you use truespace physics on workspace or model side? How did you model the tube? Did you use a geosphere for the ball?


I've had difficulty in the past with this sort of phyics. The ball would get stuck in the tube usually.


thanks,


Froo

Post by jazzer1960 // Oct 23, 2008, 5:10am

jazzer1960
Total Posts: 25
I wasnt going anywhere with this it was just something to see if it all worked out. Talking of mousetrap, heres one i made earlier. Last year even.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ZFQKMKOTrtA

Post by TomG // Oct 23, 2008, 5:53am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
Haha, quite the coincidence that I'd mention that and you happen to have made one, I had no idea.


Thanks for sharing!

Tom

Post by jazzer1960 // Oct 23, 2008, 6:45am

jazzer1960
Total Posts: 25
Frootee

It was made on model side The tube was made by subtracting a thinner and longer cylinder from another fatter and smaller cylinder. Then selected top face and swept it a few times then used the lathe tool at 90 degrees then swept a few more times otherwise ball will get stuck as you said then used lathe tool again, then used reflectance to give a glass look. The ball is just a normal sphere set with rubber parameters.:)

Post by frootee // Oct 24, 2008, 5:08am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Thanks jazzer. :)
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn