crash and some other interest things

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

crash and some other interest things // Tech Forum

1  2  |  

Post by Vizu // Oct 19, 2008, 10:57am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
on every time i click in the material editor on workspace side the balls for color, bump, transparency or reflection, i get a crash. No way to fix it.


Than on modeler side i have to turn off the bridge to get the Vray render options but not raytracing options and with the bridge on i can open the raytracing options but not the vray render options ...


i allready post this problem 3 weeks ago http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?t=6804

I have no idea what the Team Caligari do all the days but for sure not see the userproblems. :(

Post by Johny // Oct 20, 2008, 1:44am

Johny
Total Posts: 672
pic
Hi Vizu, please try this steps:
1. exit from your tS7.6
2. delete file "default.ctx" on your "trueSpace76/tS" folder
3. run your tS7.6
4. on new scene create a simple cube
5. Click Material Editor icon for open Material Editor panel
6. Click on the balls for color, bump, transparency or reflection now for testing.

Is your tS7.6 crash on step number 6 ?

Post by Vizu // Oct 20, 2008, 4:33am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
step 6 ?


I got the crash report


trueSpace caused unhandled exception and needs to close.´

But now i will try to delete the deafult ctx (i delete the default ctx since version 7.1x ;( )

Post by Vizu // Oct 20, 2008, 4:38am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
Okay here is the result.

I delete the default ctx and open TS.

TS opens in the workspace. I click material to open up the materialeditor. I click on a material ball. No problems.

I load one of my personal GUI Layouts, click on a Ball, daaaaang ts crashes

Post by TomG // Oct 20, 2008, 5:00am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
If this layout was made in an earlier version of tS, eg tS7.51, then it could cause the crash. Interface changes have been made since then that affect layouts, and you should rebuild them fresh rather than load them in from earlier versions of tS.


Note that these layouts from earlier versions of tS will also have some missing icons for new features, as well as opening existing features (like the ME) in a now-invalid way.


Try remaking the layout from scratch in tS7.61 and see if that avoids the problem.


HTH!

Tom

Post by Vizu // Oct 20, 2008, 6:28am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
thy TomG but the Layout was direct configured in 7.6.

I have deinstalled VRay 1.53 and TS 7.6 and reinstall all.


Maybe this helps.

Post by Vizu // Oct 20, 2008, 7:01am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
Okay !


Now all runs fine and works how i like :)

Post by TomG // Oct 20, 2008, 7:12am

TomG
Total Posts: 3397
Hmm that's odd then if they were 7.6 layouts, and if a reinstall got them working again. Sorry you've had a run of unique problems :( I hope this clears those up though!


Thanks!

Tom

Post by Vizu // Oct 20, 2008, 8:16am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
Okay here i am again.

TS and VRay reinstalled. edit the layout and how i wrote. All runs perfect. I close TS and open it again and i open the material editor and a click on one of the materialballs crashes TS

This Crash is reproduceable.


What could it be ? i havn´t open the modeler, i havn´t install anywhat. I Just install TS 7.6, install VRay 1.53 and edit the Layout


http://www.wire-frame.de/crash/crashscreen.jpg


And here http://www.wire-frame.de/crash/crash.dmp is the dump file.

Post by trueBlue // Oct 20, 2008, 8:38am

trueBlue
Total Posts: 1761
pic
It has been confirmed that if you have any Material Libraries in the Stack at the same time tS crashes. Remove the Libraries from the Stack and test again.
I think Floating Material Libraries is okay just not Docked ones.

Post by Steinie // Oct 20, 2008, 8:40am

Steinie
Total Posts: 3667
pic
Any Materials in your library being preloaded?

Edit:
Dang, TB beat me...


http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?t=6329

Post by Vizu // Oct 20, 2008, 8:48am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
here is my layout http://www.wire-frame.de/crash/Standard.zip

Post by Vizu // Oct 20, 2008, 8:58am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
i can´t open the stack view

i click oin it but nothig happens

Post by Johny // Oct 21, 2008, 12:54am

Johny
Total Posts: 672
pic
Ah, problem is on your new layout (Standard layout).

If you open your 'standard layout' and the swich to 'Default' layout by click on top of tS window, the crash not happen if you click on ME ball icon.

So for avoid tS crash, I think you only need to switch to other "good" layout for doing meterial editor, and switch back to your 'standard' layout for doing other thing beside material editor. (not need to delete file "default.ctx")

How about remake the same layout for save you from need to switch from 'good' layout and to your 'standard' layout?
On every change you make while remake new layout, please test to click on Vray material editor ball icon. By try it on every change you make, you can find what cause the error. Its better to save every steps layout before you click on ME's ball icon for easy restore when tS crash again and also for easy examine what cause the error.

Post by Vizu // Oct 21, 2008, 5:30am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
I solve this problems by delete all, reintsall all in a new folder and recreate my personal GUI and this works fine. All is how i like it.

I need TS at the moment to generate some new VRay material librarys for the German ts community.


My first try to create chrome ist here tataaaaaaaa


This was rendered with the new, fine running Truespace 7.6 and VRay 1.53


Question to the Team Caligari !!!!!

Is VRay supported for the future ? could we hope to get some new features in VRay ? truedisplacement - fur / Hair etc.

http://www.wire-frame.de/chrome.jpg

Post by Vizu // Oct 21, 2008, 5:52am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
EEEEEEEEY !!!


I don´t kidding !


TS Crashes again. This isn´t a joke. all runs fine and now, i havn´t change anywhat and ts crashes on the holy ball ! arghhhhhh.

Pleas ! Don´t tell me that i have to change the layout to edit the material !!!

Post by Vizu // Oct 21, 2008, 6:17am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
Back again.


Okay i thought i can fix this problem with load default layout and go back to my personal standard layout and what i must see ? my personal toolbar on the topframe is hidden. away .... traveling in nirvana. all my pointedit tolls is invisible or somewhere but i can click my balls ... stay tuned.

Post by Vizu // Oct 21, 2008, 7:07am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
and it crashes again.

Other problem is coming up for now.

I can´t save my material to the vray material library. I don´t get the dialog for save as vray by right click in the material library, before it works hmmm ...


Maybe it could help.


Windows XP SP3

Geforce 8600 GT 512 MB

2 GB Ram

Pentium 4 3 Ghz HT

Post by Johny // Oct 21, 2008, 7:25am

Johny
Total Posts: 672
pic
Hi Vizu, I just found solution for make your 'Standard' layout work well with ME's ball icon. So you can continue using your old 'Standard' layout without need to switch to other layout for edit the material. :D

If you deleted your old 'Standard' layout from your computer, you can still download it from http://www.wire-frame.de/crash/Standard.zip (this is if you didn't delete it from your web site too).

Now look on attached image (sorry for bad image).
Problem are:
1. tS7.6 crash if we click ME's color ball icon while there're a VrayShader-Color on stack library.
2. tS7.6 crash if we click ME's Displacement ball icon while there're a VrayShader-Displacement on stack library.
3. tS7.6 crash if we click ME's Reflectance ball icon while there're a VrayShader-Reflectance on stack library.
4.tS7.6 crash if we click ME's Transparency ball icon while there're a VrayShader-Transparency on stack library.

Solutions are:
1. We must remove VrayShader-Color from stack library if we want to click on ME's color ball icon without make tS7.6 crash.
2. We must remove VrayShader-Displacement from stack library if we want to click on ME's Displacement ball icon without make tS7.6 crash.
3. We must remove VrayShader-Reflectance from stack library if we want to click on ME's Reflectance ball icon without make tS7.6 crash.
4. We must remove VrayShader-Transparency from stack library if we want to click on ME's Transparency ball icon without make tS7.6 crash.

So for make your 'Standard' layout not make tS7.6 crash, you only need to load your 'standard' layout, then delete all vrayShader (color,displacement,reflectance and transparency) from stack library list, then save replace to your old 'Standard' layout.

You see, you dont need to change the layout for edit the material. ;)

HTH!

PS: !!! you also can make default layout crash by load vrayShader Library on stack library and then click on ME's ball icon.!!!

Post by Vizu // Oct 21, 2008, 7:37am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
Thanky.


I have delete VRay and TS and clean now my registry. after reboot i will reinstall TS and VRay and follow your instruction and come back here again to tell you if it works

Post by Vizu // Oct 21, 2008, 8:02am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
have delete all VRay librarys. so it looks here


http://www.wire-frame.de/stack.jpg



after this i restart TS and i click in the material editor on a ball and tataaaaaaaaaa ts caused unhandled exception and needs to close.

What now ? ;)

Post by Vizu // Oct 21, 2008, 8:17am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
Hohny !!!


You are right. This was the problem.

I can click the balls 1000 x in times and nothing happend.

In this moment i open one or all vray shader library i get this crash.


Maybe Team Caligari can fix it.

Post by Johny // Oct 22, 2008, 12:58am

Johny
Total Posts: 672
pic
Vizu, you can replace original 'Vray Material Editor' RsObj (find on "\Kernel root\Material Editor\Material Editor\" with new 'Vray Material Editor' RsObj I attached on this post.

Before you replace the original 'Vray Material Editor' RsObj with new 'Vray Material Editor' RsObj, Please make a backup of original 'Vray Material Editor' RsObj. So you can restore it later if you not sastified with my new 'Vray Material Editor' RsObj.

Steps for replace original 'Vray Material Editor' RsObj with new 'Vray Material Editor' RsObj:
1. click on scene view icon for open Scene view window,
2. looking for Vray Material Editor on Scene view window like shown on attached image.
3. Right click on 'Vray Material Editor' text for open a small popup window,
4. select 'Browse in LE' for browse 'Vray Material Editor' RsOBj inside LE view.
5. (backup original 'Vray Material Editor' RsObj if you want) you can skip this step number 5 because you can Reset your tS7.6 later by press Ctrl-Shift-R shortcut key.
6. Delete the original 'Vray Material Editor' RsObj
7. put my new 'Vray Material Editor' RsObj here
8. click "Developer" tap on LE title bar for make LE link visible like on attached image.
9. click 'Exp' on my new 'Vray Material Editor' RsObj then connect wire link from LE's 'Input material' to 'Input material' of our new 'Vray Material Editor' RsOBj as shown on attached image.
10. Use 'Scene Editor' to switch back to LE Space3D.
11. Finished. Now you can let all 'Vray Shaders' Library on stack library panel without worry your tS7.6 crash if you click on Vray ME's ball icons. Of course your still continue using you old 'Standard' layout you posted on post number #12. :)

Note:
1. Dont delete any Vray shaders library from your disk because we still use it and I think tS7.6 Vray Material Editor also still use it internally. And now we can let it keep open on stack library while click on ME's ball icons.
2. Vray ME editor ME's ball icon click respone change after install this new 'Vray Material Editor' RsObj.
PS: I'm Johny not Honny. :o

Post by Vizu // Oct 22, 2008, 4:23am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
Thanky so much Johny but isn´t this a Bug in Truespace ? Maybe Team Caligari can make a update.


Isn´t it time fpr a new Upgrade ? Caligari have to make a decision. Modeler or Workspace. I have no idea for what we need the Bridge. The tools from the modeler could be available in the workspace.

Post by Vizu // Oct 22, 2008, 5:13am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
Is ist normal that i can´t switch over to the VRay renderoptions in the modeler ?

No way to open the VRay rendersettings

Post by Johny // Oct 22, 2008, 5:43am

Johny
Total Posts: 672
pic
Is ist normal that i can´t switch over to the VRay renderoptions in the modeler ?
No way to open the VRay rendersettings
No, its not normal, as you see on attached image, I use you standard layout with the new Vray Material Editor installed and I can open Vray render settings on tS7.6 model view.

Post by Vizu // Oct 22, 2008, 6:22am

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
hmmmm Johny you makes me crazy.

Okay i reinstall again all.

I have no idea what´s running wrong here but if it won´t works, i will use silo and C4D or somewhat else.


i am annoyed about the damn bridge. Workspace needs to load a different Layout then the modeler. One one hand i get the polytools, on the other i get features that i miss on the other hand .... Team Caligari have realy much to do.

Post by Johny // Oct 22, 2008, 6:37am

Johny
Total Posts: 672
pic
Heiiiii wait!! you not need to always reintall your tS7.6 :D

below image may solve your problem.
Remember not cunfuse between model render icon and workspace render icon. ;)

Post by Vizu // Oct 22, 2008, 12:59pm

Vizu
Total Posts: 628
pic
yrs that works fine for me.

Thanky to the other side of the world (you are from australia right ? )

Post by Johny // Oct 23, 2008, 12:31am

Johny
Total Posts: 672
pic
You are welcome Vizu, I'm from Indonesia.

Glad to know its run well now. :)
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn