I can't put the viper fish on truespace!!!!

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

I can't put the viper fish on truespace!!!! // Tech Forum

1  |  

Post by kittygirl1300 // Oct 15, 2008, 6:37am

kittygirl1300
Total Posts: 5
I can't find where to get it. I have all the videos. Help me!!!!!!!!:confused:

Post by splinters // Oct 15, 2008, 7:03am

splinters
Total Posts: 4148
pic
Help me........Please?


Not sure what you are referring to here. It seems to be 'obscure' day...:p

Post by rrf // Oct 15, 2008, 7:14am

rrf
Total Posts: 319
I think you might have forgotten to download this file: WsOrganicsResources.zip.

the viperfish.png is under chapter one in the 'Libraries' folder


hth,


rf

Post by kittygirl1300 // Oct 15, 2008, 4:18pm

kittygirl1300
Total Posts: 5
I didn't get a libray.... I just got the videos and downloaded the program. Nothing else.:(

Post by finder // Oct 15, 2008, 4:56pm

finder
Total Posts: 66
When you down load the video there is other downloads. make sure you get all of them. I think the Resources is were they have the fish. Oh ya welcome to the forum

Post by robert // Oct 16, 2008, 4:26pm

robert
Total Posts: 609
pic
Also many people have had problems getting the image on the plane. Here's a post of mine detailing the procedure. http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showpost.php?p=82178&postcount=11

Post by pharoahsnef // Oct 25, 2008, 5:30am

pharoahsnef
Total Posts: 14
Hi all


I got the image onto the plane but had one hell of a job trying to add the cylinder primitive onto the body of the fish. The video I watched placed the cylinder onto the plane as a front view, mine went side view and had a job trying to align it with the body of the fish. I am trying to work thru the videos, but I must say they are VERY AMBIGUOUS to say the least. What works for the experts, no way works for me and I try and follow the instruction step by step. I have no idea what I am doing wrong!!!!!!


What seems to take the expert 1 step to do something appears to take me 10 steps. I love Truespace 7.6 it is a fantastic program, but for the absolute beginner very, very difficult to learn. The tutorial videos are in my opinion very 'sketchy' - no offence to anyone:)


Well back to banging my head on the wall then:)


Regards to all users


Russ

Post by robert // Oct 25, 2008, 11:02am

robert
Total Posts: 609
pic
This phenomenon is actually due to a slight difference between 7.6 and the version which was used to make the video (can't remember if it was 7.11 or 7.51).

What I did was to put the cylinder on the ground, rotate it 90 degrees so it's lying flat. Then I moved it into position and used the boolean union tool with flatten history to glue it to the cube.

Another method would be to be in point edit mode on the cube and then place the cylinder and move it into position. When you're in point edit mode and an an object to the scene the two geometries will be one object. Not the same as boolean union, but rather more like merge geometry tool.

Hope that helps to clarify!:)

Post by Steinie // Oct 25, 2008, 11:07am

Steinie
Total Posts: 3667
pic
Your very lucky to mention your problems here because the Author of that Video visits and supports these Forums too. If you tell us which part of the Video you had problems with I'm sure someone (if not Jack) will try to help you.

By the way ALL 3D software has a large learning curve. We've all been there. Stick with it because it does start to make sense after using it for awhile.
The renderings you can achieve will bring you back like one good golf shot.

Edit: See Robert jumped right in!




Hi all

I got the image onto the plane but had one hell of a job trying to add the cylinder primitive onto the body of the fish. The video I watched placed the cylinder onto the plane as a front view, mine went side view and had a job trying to align it with the body of the fish. I am trying to work thru the videos, but I must say they are VERY AMBIGUOUS to say the least. What works for the experts, no way works for me and I try and follow the instruction step by step. I have no idea what I am doing wrong!!!!!!

What seems to take the expert 1 step to do something appears to take me 10 steps. I love Truespace 7.6 it is a fantastic program, but for the absolute beginner very, very difficult to learn. The tutorial videos are in my opinion very 'sketchy' - no offence to anyone:)

Well back to banging my head on the wall then:)

Regards to all users

Russ

Post by trueBlue // Oct 25, 2008, 4:30pm

trueBlue
Total Posts: 1761
pic
You will notice if you right click any of the Primitive tools, in the Stack you can change the Factory Mode to any of the Boolean modes. Select Add then add your primitive to any face of your other object. Select it and position it where you want.
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn