Tech FAQ

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Tech FAQ // Tech Forum

1  |  

Post by Norm // Jul 23, 2008, 9:58am

Norm
Total Posts: 862
pic
Please refer to this thread for latest frequently asked questions and answers. If you do not see the question here, please contact us and we will review and add if possible.

There is important information regarding forum use and acceptable conduct Here (http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/faq.php).

Post by prodigy // Jul 23, 2008, 5:14pm

prodigy
Total Posts: 3029
pic
A: Which offline render engines are included with TS 7.6?
Q: Lightworks and VirtuaLight and both run ONLY in the Model Side

Q: Are there any other render engines for Truespace?
A: Yes, actually 2 -- Dribble (Renderman) and Vray

Q: Are Dribble and Vray Free?
A: No. You can buy Dribble (RENDERMAN) Here (http://truespace.coolpowers.com/) --- And VRAY TS Plugin Here (http://www.caligari.com/store/trueSpace/default.asp?SubCate=S2truespace&Cate=STtrueSpace)

Q: Do any of the above mentioned render engines work in the Workspace Side?
A: Currently only VRay render engine can be used in Workspace side.

** Virtualight Model Side Only
** Lightworks Model Side Only
** Vray works in both sides, Workspaces and Model Side
** Dribble works only in Model Side (but that may change ;))

Q: I Installed Vray, but Vray will not render.. Why??
A: After the Installation you need to install the new Plugin into the new Package Manager included in TS7.6

Here is a video tutorial showing how to load Vray (or any future plugins)

Post by prodigy // Jul 24, 2008, 1:53am

prodigy
Total Posts: 3029
pic
Q: Why can't I load my 7.5x Workspace custom layout in 7.6?
A: Because 7.5 layouts are not compatible with 7.6 layouts.

Q: Can I use any of my new RsScn 7.6 scenes on my old 7.5x?
A: No, 7.6 scenes doesn't run in older versions of truespace, but you can load your 7.5x scenes and objects on 7.6

Post by Jack Edwards // Jul 24, 2008, 8:23am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Q: Why is there a "Model-side" and a "Workspace-side"?
A: Model-side is the old 6.6 version of TrueSpace bolted in sort of like a big plugin to allow for backwards compatibility and access to the old tools via the bridge while TrueSpace transitions to it's new architecture: Workspace.

Q: Does that mean that Model side will no longer be maintained?
A: That is correct. Development is focused on moving old functionality and tools over to Workspace side, after which Model side will be removed and the new architecture will be free to stand on it's own.

Post by Jack Edwards // Jul 24, 2008, 8:50am

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
Q: I seem to be missing the codec needed to play back the training courses. What do I do?

A: The recent courses should mostly be WMV 9.0 or 9.2 codec and should play on any computer with an updated version of Windows Media player installed. Some of the older courses use some less common codecs though. If after updating Windows Media player you are still having problems try these two softwares:
ffdshow-tryouts (codec pack)
http://ffdshow-tryout.sourceforge.net/

and GSpot (codec identifier)
http://www.headbands.com/gspot/index.htm

Post by Norm // Jul 24, 2008, 8:52am

Norm
Total Posts: 862
pic
Package Manager location:

Post by frootee // Jul 24, 2008, 9:10am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Q: I only want to use the Model Side (6.6) / I only want to use the Workspace side (7.6). How do I do that?


A: Disable the bridge:


Note: When turning the Bridge Off, you will not be able to transfer changes between workspace and model side. To do that you must reactivate the bridge.


1. Switch to Model side by clicking the Model tab, in upper left hand corner of interface

2. In upper right corner of interface, select the Setting tab

3. In the Destop section (topmost portion of Setting tab), is the Bridge option. By default this is set to Auto.

Click the dropdown arrow, and select Off.


This will disable the bridge, freeing up your resources.

Post by Norm // Jul 24, 2008, 9:46am

Norm
Total Posts: 862
pic
Great thanks to Clinton for creating and sharing this index with everyone :)

Link to index (http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showpost.php?p=72037&postcount=1)

Post by Délé // Jul 24, 2008, 10:00am

Délé
Total Posts: 1374
pic
Q: Why can't I see things properly in the Workspace and/or why do things not display correctly in trueSpace?


A: It might be your graphics card or the drivers for your card. Ensure that your graphics card fully supports DirectX 9 and that you have installed the latest drivers for it.

Post by Délé // Jul 24, 2008, 6:05pm

Délé
Total Posts: 1374
pic
Q: I press the render button but I just get a message saying that there is no offline renderer installed, why?

A: There are two render buttons, one for the Workspace view, and one for the Model view. The Workspace render button will only work if you have Vray installed (purchased separately). You can render with Lightworks or Virtualight from the Model view by using the render button on the Model side.

Note that there are separate tools for each view (Workspace, Model). Some of these tools look and work similar, but they work only with their respective view. So if you are in the Model view, you must use the Model side tools. If you are in the Workspace view, you must use the Workspace side tools.

For more information why there are separate tools for each side please refer HERE (http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showpost.php?p=72122&postcount=4)

Post by frootee // Jul 25, 2008, 5:37am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Q: I want to make my own plugins. What do I need?

A: The Truespace SDK Download Here (http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?t=6487), and Microsoft Visual Studio 2005/2008 (Standard Edition at a minimum)

Savings tip: At present (July 25 2008) you can download the Express Edition of Visual Studio 2008. Then, you qualify for *Upgrade* pricing.

Check here:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/vs2008/products/cc263904.aspx

Info of interest on that page:

Upgrade Pricing Eligibility
To qualify for upgrade pricing, you must be a licensed user of one of the following products:
An earlier version of Microsoft Visual Studio
Any other developer tool (including free developer tools, such as Visual Studio Express Editions or Eclipse)

Post by Emma // Jul 25, 2008, 8:00pm

Emma
Total Posts: 344
pic
Q: How do I freeze cloth animation frame to save the object


A: use the Start/Stop physics button, it has a third status Continue so you can run stepwise through cloth animation, to add this functionality you have to check in LE the setting for Continue in the PhysEngine

Post by Jack Edwards // Jul 26, 2008, 5:53pm

Jack Edwards
Total Posts: 4062
pic
HOTKEY ~ SHORTCUTs

Q: I prefer a hotkey type workflow, where can I find the list of keyboard shortcuts for TrueSpace?
A: The keyboard shortcuts are listed on page 52 of Chapter 2 in the TrueSpace manual. The section is: 2.4.5 "Preset Shortcuts"

Q: How do I set my own keyboard shortcuts?
A: Keyboard shortcuts can be setup by CTRL right clicking on an icon then when the "Assign shortcut" dialog box displays, press the key combination that you want to use to activate that tool. Click OK to close the dialog will set the shortcut.

Q: How do I save my keyboard shortcuts?
A: Keyboard shortcut changes are automatically saved upon exiting TrueSpace. So exiting and restarting TrueSpace will save your custom shortcuts.

Q: Can i save a backup of my Workspace Shortcuts?? is that possible??
A: Yes. you need to backup this file and replace it if needed: Unit:\Truespace Folder\tS\Scripts\Window.Shortcuts.xml
** Important: If you uninstall Truespace you lost your Shorcuts so is good to know how backup it.

Post by Norm // Jul 27, 2008, 4:09am

Norm
Total Posts: 862
pic
When you register for the forums, the server will send you an email with a link to visit. You must receive the email (means you have a valid email address) and visit the link to verify your wish to register (no one can register for you).
Once you visit the link for verification, your registration goes into the queue. The queue is manually reviewed (by yours truly). I must find you have either:
registered trueSpace7.6.
valid full name and email address
are an existing customer.
:)
If your information is valid, your registration is approved. If you are not able to be identified in either of the above mentioned instances, your registration is declined. You are free to register again with valid information.Some folks unfortunately registered for forums before registering/downloading trueSpace7.6. If this is your case, just ensure you register trueSpace7.6 (this happens when you download) and then it is safe to return and register for the forums again.

If problems ensue, send me an email or private message and we can resolve for you.

Post by prodigy // Jul 27, 2008, 4:13am

prodigy
Total Posts: 3029
pic
Q: Does Truespace support Dual Screen?
A: Yes, Truespace has full support for Dual Screens.

Q: How can i save my custom Layout?
A: There are 2 ways:

1) Go to your File menu // Save // and in type of file choose "Layout files (*.rsl)"
**The same if you need to load a Layout

2) Open your Library Browser and search "Layouts - Configurations" you will see a Layout panel on your Stack Library panel. Right click and click on Insert.
**If you reset Truespace the next time you will find your Layout with the other default TS Layouts on the main toolbar.

Post by Heidi // Jul 27, 2008, 7:09am

Heidi
Total Posts: 335
Q: How can I get the manual to open and use the Table of Contents links?


A: Check that the files for the manual installed to the correct path. It should look like this:


C:\trueSpace76\tS\PDFMan (obviously I've got TrueSpace installed to my root C: but you get the idea).


The PDFMan folder needs to reside in the tS folder.


There are folders containing the videos for the manual (identified by chapter) and are within the ...tS\PDFMan\resources folder:


C:\trueSpace76\tS\PDFMan\resources\chapter1 ....chapter2, etc.

You should be able to just click on the Manual icon to bring up the manual and the video links in the manual will work. :)


http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/attachment.php?attachmentid=13474&stc=1&d=1217178389



Q: How do I find stuff in the manual?

A: You can use the Adobe Acrobat Search functions:

1. Click on the icon to open the TrueSpace Manual

2. In your browser’s address bar delete ts76_manual.html from the address and click go. This will open the pdf manual folder.

3. Copy the path in the folder’s address bar and double-click on any pdf document in the folder.

4. On your acrobat toolbar, click on the down arrow next to Find and select Full Acrobat Search.

5. When the search window opens type in the word or phase you want to search for and select All PDF Documents Inand paste in the path that you copied from the manual’s folder.


Acrobat will list all the occurrences of your query in each chapter and will include the context in which it’s used.


You can also use your Windows Search tool:

1. Click on Start and select Search

2. In the search dialog enter your query for A word or phrase in the file

3. Under Look In: either browse to the PDMan folder, or type in the path to the manual folder.

4. Click on Advanced Options and check Search SubfoldersIt's also a good idea to make sure "Case Sensative" is unchecked.

Click on the search button.


All occurrences of your query in all chapters of the manual will then be displayed in the search results.


You can also install the Index Files (http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showpost.php?p=72037&postcount=1)that Clintonman put together

Post by Heidi // Jul 27, 2008, 7:14am

Heidi
Total Posts: 335
Q: How do I make Convert Soft Selection work for weight painting?


A: Actually, any Point Edit selection can be converted for weight painting. See attached video for the work flow.

Post by frootee // Jul 28, 2008, 9:27am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Q: Can I Generate Keyframes for Cloth Simulation?


A: It is now possible with the use of this scripted object, courtesy of Johny Tho:


***

http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showpost.php?p=74092&postcount=1

***


An addition is here:

http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showpost.php?p=74270&postcount=12


And just in case you want to read the whole thread, click this:


http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?t=6043


The 7.6 distribution cannot do this natively. Cloth simulation is currently a real time function only.

So Johny came up with a very nice solution. :D

Post by frootee // Jul 28, 2008, 5:09pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Q: How do I make a Floating Panel from an item in the Panel Tab?


A: with your object selected so it shows in stack, hold down ctrl and then drag the panel out of the stack. This creates a floating panel for your object.


This works for standard objects like cones, spheres, toruses. But it also works with custom objects you create using scripts and the LE.


Thanks Stan for the info on this. :)

Post by frootee // Jul 29, 2008, 5:14am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Q: I closed the LE and now I cannot find how to open it again.


A: How to Open LE again:


1. On the bottom row of icons, the LE icon is in the flyout set of icons, 4th from the right.


2. Hover your mouse over the icon that is there. The Tooltip will appear. If it does not say LE Window, click and drag that icon. A flyout window of icons will appear.


3. Hover over each of those icons, reviewing the tooltip. When you find the one that says 'LE Window', let go of the left mouse button.


4. The LE should open.


This process also applies to other items as well. All of the icons have tooltips associated with them.


The icons and their default positions are described in Chapter 2 of the manual.

Post by Heidi // Jul 29, 2008, 5:27am

Heidi
Total Posts: 335
Q: How do I open the Virtual Light Properties Panel? (model side)


A: First make sure that you have Virtual Light selected as your render engine. You can do this by either right-clicking the Render icon at the top of the model window or use the TSFiles dropdown menu and select Preferences.


With Virtual Light selected as your render engine, another right-click on the render icon at the top of the model window should bring up the VL properties panel.


As of this entry, we have a known bug that prevents the VL Properties panel from showing up for some users. IF you have followed the above steps and are still unable to bring up the VL properties panel. Here is the bug fix:


Try this first: Close TrueSpace and move the TRUESPACE.CFG file inside your ...\trueSpace76\tS folder and re-launch TrueSpace. Check to whether you can now access the VL properties panel.


If not: Stan has provided a file that corrects the registry entry for the VL panel (see attached). Open the file, right click and merge.


If you're still having a problem, you can manually make the required entry to your registry (thanks Aidan):


The content of Stan's VL.REG is:


[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Caligari trueSpace7\VirtuaLight\MainPanel]

"PanelX"=dword:00000208

"PanelY"=dword:000000d3

Open REGEDIT ( Start, Run, type regedit, click ok ). Follow down to the path mentioned above - HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Caligari trueSpace7\VirtuaLight\MainPanel - in here delete the 2 dwords already there. Now go to the Edit Menu, New, Dword - name is PanelX ( caps included ), the hex code is 00000208. Do the same for PanelY. Once done close the regedit and lauch TS, now you should have your panel?


You can also right-click on PanelX and PanelY and select Modify to enter the hex code.

Post by Emma // Jul 30, 2008, 11:50am

Emma
Total Posts: 344
pic
Atached PDF info is a few words to ME usage in Workspace

Post by Emma // Jul 31, 2008, 10:10am

Emma
Total Posts: 344
pic
A: there have to be minimum of two objects that are encapsulated together


Q: I have two encapsulated objects but they don't break


A: did you enter in LE your encapsulated object and set there in PhysObject under Forces tab the check for BreakAble


A: is there any force for your object, like falling or pushing to initiate the breaking process

Post by frootee // Aug 2, 2008, 4:59am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Q: How do I see a hierarchy view of my scene?


A: Use the Scene View icon:

The Scene View icon is located in the same icon flyout window as the LE icon.

In Default configuration, the icon set is the 4th set from the rightmost set, in the lower right hand corner of the interface.


Click and drag the currently visible icon. The flyout window will appear. Hover the mouse over each icon to view the tooltip for that icon.


The Scene View icon looks similar to the LE icon, but with more 'levels' visible; a level is a grey bar in the icon.

Post by frootee // Aug 2, 2008, 5:03am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Q: How Do I Know Which Item is selected in the LE?


A: Select the item in 3D space, or in the LE.


When you do, in the LE, below the title of the node, there will be two tabs:


Exp, and Default.


No other nodes will be selected like this. This is the indication of which node is selected.

Post by frootee // Aug 11, 2008, 9:49am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Q: I want to use Lightworks to render my Workspace Scenes. How do I do that?

A: Perform all your work on the Workspace side. Then when you are ready to render your final image/animation, turn the Bridge to On, Full Merge.

Then switch to Model side, and select Lightworks as your renderer. Make sure the workspace option is selected.

Post by frootee // Aug 12, 2008, 4:31am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Q: I try to add items to Shared Space, but they are immediately deleted


A: The Scriptorium and Meeting Room should allow you to add objects, scripts, etc. If you cannot do this, contact tech support by sending a PM to Norm and Cayenne, and notify them of the situation.


The Scriptorium addresses are as follows:


//tpportal.caligari.com/1212

//tsportal.caligari.com/1212


The Meeting Room addresses are as follows:


//tpportal.caligari.com/1111

//tsportal.caligari.com/1111

Post by Emma // Aug 30, 2008, 11:10pm

Emma
Total Posts: 344
pic
Q.: How do I create my own collection of Vray materials


A.(1): Well nothing is more simple than this, just use the shaders to create whatever you want


A.(2):In reality it is much more difficult, why ?


- you see a material and think that is it, and start mixing it up but it won't come out right


The reason is that when you see something, then much more as just the mix up of the shaders is there, you have to include


- lighting

- view angle

- reflections of the whole environment of a scenery

- other effects like blure, Depth of Field, .....


So it will depend much on your experience to recognize how you get that material as you imagine it. Means you have to study how others do it and what effects are working there, try to look "behind the scene"


Only two examples, look and you will see much more in this forum

http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?t=5096

http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showthread.php?t=6499


Get yourself a collection of samples and don't forget to document all params outside of the shaders.

Post by frootee // Sep 10, 2008, 7:44am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Q: Where Can I Download Virtual Earth?


A: You can get Virtual Earth from here:


http://maps.live.com/


With truespace 7.6 you can export your models to Virtual Earth format and drop them directly into Virtual Earth.


EDIT: Per Dele: :D


Note: You must have a Windows Live ID to upload content to Virtual Earth.


Windows Live! and Virtual Earth are Free.



Froo

Post by Délé // Sep 10, 2008, 7:54am

Délé
Total Posts: 1374
pic
Q: Where can I get a Windows Live ID?


A: Go to http://get.live.com/getlive/overview and click the "Sign up" button. It is completely FREE.


Note: You must have a Windows Live ID to upload content from trueSpace to Virtual Earth.
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2021. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn