Fluid Sim Plugin now supports Lightworks

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Fluid Sim Plugin now supports Lightworks // SDK, Plug-in & 3rd Party Area

1  |  

Post by frootee // Jan 19, 2009, 11:22am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Ok. Did a little work on this; we can now render fluids to Lightworks by calling the LW render engine from Workspace.


This uses the Model side plugin I wrote the other day.


I will be posting a video shortly (rendering now).


Other stuff (updates, a free animation render-to-LW package for use without the fluid sim, etc. ) as soon as I can.


Note: the changes are not yet available on the website here. I need to put it together.

Post by Burnart // Jan 19, 2009, 11:36am

Burnart
Total Posts: 839
pic
That's great news frootee. As someone who doesn't have VRay and bought your plugin between its release and the announcement of VRays axing that will make the fluid sim plugin much more useful. (The only other use was realtime display which is nice but limited.)

This capacity to call LW/Modelside from within workspace has got to have other uses. (Simon perhaps you could call dribble in this way?)

Post by frootee // Jan 19, 2009, 11:57am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
well, you need a model side window open.


since dribble is a model side plugin (tsx), it, too, can be called from Workspace.


This script command can be added to a jscript node, or vbscript node.

Replace the LWfromWS.tsx with the dribble tsx.


tSBridge.RunUserPluginByPath(System.GetMainDir() + "\\tsx\\LWfromWS\\LWfromWS.tsx");


trueBlue pointed out this technique in another thread here, using the LUUV plugin.


heck, you should be able to even use Pyrocluster, trueparticles, and other 6.6 plugins this way. But the caveat is, you need a Model window open, most likely. Worth testing though. :D


Now, personally, I would Prefer Dribble on the Workspace side so I wouldn't have to click over to the Bridge.

Post by frootee // Jan 19, 2009, 12:03pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Here's the sample video. It's not spectacular; just a test render using Lightworks.

Post by Délé // Jan 19, 2009, 1:15pm

Délé
Total Posts: 1374
pic
Excellent work Froo! It sucks that Vray is no longer available for folks, but that's great that you found a way to make Lightworks work with the fluid sim plugin. :D :banana:

Post by Burnart // Jan 19, 2009, 1:32pm

Burnart
Total Posts: 839
pic
So you need to have a workspace and a modelside window open at the same time? Not something I've done before. I've stuck with the default layouts pretty much so I'm embarrassed to say I'm not even sure how you open both at the same time!

Post by frootee // Jan 19, 2009, 4:20pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Thanks Dele :D.

Cool Burnart.

You can just switch the single Workspace view to Model, and render that way. The fluid sim panel will stay in place.

But you can use multiple views if you like, for modelling in the Workspace, and using the Model side for rendering/texturing Only:

In the top panel, there are some tabs:

4View, Default, Floating, and trueSpace6.

Click 4View.

Your TS screen now has 4 views. On one of them, say, the Perspective, select
the Model tab.

Now you have 3 Workspace views, and one Model view.

When you render using the LW option (not yet released), LW will render the Model view. We should be able to use animated cameras, etc. on Model side just as before.

Post by Burnart // Jan 19, 2009, 7:21pm

Burnart
Total Posts: 839
pic
It's that easy hey? Ok I'll mess with it and see what happens. Not the fluid sim for lw (which isn't available yet) - the workspace and modelside at the same time business. Presumably the bridge needs to be on rather than off or auto.


Nice little anim btw. I need to spend more time in blender figuring out how that stuff works as well.

Post by Délé // Jan 19, 2009, 11:45pm

Délé
Total Posts: 1374
pic
You can also create a custom layout. I always like to have my own custom layouts. In the bottom toolbar there is a flyout where you can open any type of window. So you could for instance open a new 3d window and use ctrl+drag on the title bar to snap it into place wherever you want it. Then just switch the new 3d window to model view. You can also use ctrl+drag to rip a window out of it's position if you want to reposition it.


The ability to customize like this is one of the great things about tS.

Post by frootee // Jan 24, 2009, 2:58pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Here is the link to the free stuff, including the new fluid sim panel which supports Lightworks:


http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showpost.php?p=90838&postcount=1

Post by frootee // Jan 25, 2009, 6:24am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
had to put in a fix.


Here's the link again.


http://forums1.caligari.com/truespace/showpost.php?p=90838&postcount=1
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2020. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn