Can You Please Test This Folks?

About Truespace Archives

These pages are a copy of the official truespace forums prior to their removal somewhere around 2011.

They are retained here for archive purposes only.

Can You Please Test This Folks? // SDK, Plug-in & 3rd Party Area

1  2  |  

Post by frootee // Oct 4, 2008, 11:55am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Hi Everyone. I've been working on a plugin for the past several months.

This particular piece is just a simple VB Script Object, but since it will be used in

conjunction with the plugin, I am putting a test version here.


Could you do me a favor? Please test this. It's a simple VB Script command

which will display a standard Windows File-Open dialog. But I read online

that this method may not work, IF it is not executed from an application which

has been created with Microsoft Visual Studio. I know that truespace has been

created with Visual Studio, but I need to make sure it works, Just In Case.


So this is what you do:


1. Download the object. It will be in the Link Editor, called

VB_DLG.


2. Click the Start button.


3. You should see a dialog popup on your screen. If you do Not, please post here, and indicate whether or not you have a development application (Like Visual Studio) present on your system.


If this does not work there are other ways to get it working, but this is the most direct.


Thanks everyone!


Oh and, if you are a plugin developer or a scriptor, feel free to use this item as a starting point.


Froo

Post by RichLevy // Oct 4, 2008, 12:03pm

RichLevy
Total Posts: 1140
pic
Igot a dialog up on my screen

Error Event

Source object:/project/camera Viewer example/VB_DLG

error unspecified script error

Line 8 char:1

Script text:Set objdlgs=CreateObject("MSComDlg.CommonDialog")


Looks like you worked on my system.

Congradulations.


Rich

Post by frootee // Oct 4, 2008, 12:09pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Thanks Rich. Hm... even though you got the dialog up, you also got an error. Ok. I'll check out the workarounds suggested online then.


I wasn't sure if it would work or not.


Do you have a developer application installed on your system?


Thanks,


Froo

Post by RichLevy // Oct 4, 2008, 12:13pm

RichLevy
Total Posts: 1140
pic
I may... though I have not used anything in a while so I am not sure... let me check...


Rich

Post by RichLevy // Oct 4, 2008, 12:18pm

RichLevy
Total Posts: 1140
pic
Nothing in there right now, but I have the remains of a MS Studio install I removed awhile back...

That of any use?


Rich

Post by hultek43 // Oct 4, 2008, 12:43pm

hultek43
Total Posts: 234
Downloaded, dragged from Explorer to library in stack. Neither r-click/load or drag to LE reveal this mysterious object :confused:

Post by RichLevy // Oct 4, 2008, 12:55pm

RichLevy
Total Posts: 1140
pic
I just double clicked on the icon on my desktop and it opened TS 7.6 and was in the LE...

Your mileage may vary.


Rich

Post by hultek43 // Oct 4, 2008, 1:44pm

hultek43
Total Posts: 234
4 of 4 methods that all should have worked have failed so far to produce anything in my LE window.

Post by frootee // Oct 4, 2008, 1:46pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
hi hultek.

Did you try loading the file using the truespace menu? File-> Load?

EDIT: I see the problem please stand by... DOH!

Post by frootee // Oct 4, 2008, 2:08pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
OK I uploaded a corrected version. Sorry about that.


Rich, could you please download this and retest? I had built this using a different version of truespace originally. DOH! No wonder it didn't work! :D


Thanks,


Froo

Post by RichLevy // Oct 4, 2008, 2:17pm

RichLevy
Total Posts: 1140
pic
still the same error for me...

I am using ts7.61B3b2 though... sorry beta took out ts7.6


rich

Post by frootee // Oct 4, 2008, 2:21pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
That's cool thanks for testing it Rich.


All of the systems I've tested that one CommonDialog script on have a Visual Studio app installed. I think my other one does not have that installed so I'll try it there too.


There is a workaround I can try (not truespace specific). If that doesn't work, I'll spend some more time on this and just do it the C++ way. Basically all I want to do is to allow the user to select the directory in which their files are stored, as opposed to forcing them to have to type the directory name in. That's not user friendly. :)


thanks man.


Froo

Post by Chef_eam // Oct 4, 2008, 2:29pm

Chef_eam
Total Posts: 18
I downloaded it, loaded it up and it did bring up the file open dialog. I do have VS2008 Express installed on this computer

Post by frootee // Oct 4, 2008, 4:41pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Cool thanks Chef.

Post by robert // Oct 4, 2008, 4:59pm

robert
Total Posts: 609
pic
Got an error as well,:( I have Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 express edition.http://bestsmileys.com/wink/3.gif



Source object: /Project/Space 3D/VBCMD_DLG

Error: Unspecified script error

Line: 8, Char: 1

Script text: Set objDlgs =

CreateObject("MSComDlg.CommonDialog")



Other than that nothing else happened.:(

Post by frootee // Oct 4, 2008, 5:00pm

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
wow that sucks.

Thanks for testing Robert!


BTW here's the link to the stuff I am looking at:


http://www.aspfree.com/c/a/Windows-Scripting/Workarounds-for-Common-Dialogs-in-WSH/

Post by robert // Oct 4, 2008, 5:09pm

robert
Total Posts: 609
pic
I've been meaning to get more involved with scripting, both in tS and in general. I have a PhysX card and it uses Visual C++ for programming the scenes, sadly I never got around to it. Wish I could help, but I never really got started.


But looking at this code it's pretty straightforward and seems like it would work.

Post by hultek43 // Oct 4, 2008, 5:22pm

hultek43
Total Posts: 234
Well, I got it loaded and found it. I get the same error as robert.

Post by frootee // Oct 5, 2008, 4:26am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
thanks for testing guys. This is the first page of the article which I was pointing to:


http://www.aspfree.com/c/a/Windows-Scripting/User-Interaction-with-Common-Dialogs-in-WSH/


Note this is quoted on that page:


Please keep in mind that due to the nature of the examples that follow, they may not work in all situations or under every condition. These are all workarounds! While I will be making the attempt to provide code that should work, it's not possible for me to accurately forecast every scenario that may arise.


Now, another note; I tried this with jscript and it did not work at all. Jscript rejected it. VBscript accepted it. Not sure if that's a bug or not but since it's not guaranteed to work I'm not worried about it at this point.


Thanks for testing, and I will have more later.


Froo

Post by early // Oct 5, 2008, 4:55am

early
Total Posts: 46
Same failure here. I'm sure it's licensing as the article says.


The UserAccounts.CommonDialog example works fine. (XP SP3, no MS developer environments).

Post by frootee // Oct 5, 2008, 5:10am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
Thanks Early. I have that one ready now, which uses the UserAccounts dialog.


We don't need no Steenking Dev environment! :D


OK folks; please try this one and let me know if you get an error or not.


Thank you VERY MUCH for testing this.


Froo

Post by early // Oct 5, 2008, 5:40am

early
Total Posts: 46
Problem: UserAccounts isn't supported by Vista.


Can or should Caligari incorporate a CommonDialog function in the SDK?

Post by robert // Oct 5, 2008, 5:40am

robert
Total Posts: 609
pic
Sorry still failed this time...



Source object: /Project/Space 3D/VBCMD_DLG

Error: Microsoft VBScript runtime error

Description: ActiveX component can't create object:

'UserAccounts.CommonDialog'

Error code: 0x800a01ad - (null)

Line: 17, Char: 1

Script text: Set objDlgs =

CreateObject("UserAccounts.CommonDialog")



I tried doing this with the original one before but just never mentioned it as it still returned an error.

Post by frootee // Oct 5, 2008, 5:53am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
thanks early and Robert.
Hm...
How about regular File Open dialogs created in Visual Studio 2008?
Is there a synonym for UserAccounts dialogs in Vista?
I may need to have two separate builds; one for XP, one for Vista.

Yes, having a Common Dialog for Truespace would be a good idea.

Thanks

Jason

Post by robert // Oct 5, 2008, 5:56am

robert
Total Posts: 609
pic
Yeah the main issue does seem to be Vista related. I'm running Vista Ultimate. Everyone else should post their system as well, then we will know if it's operating system related.

Post by RichLevy // Oct 5, 2008, 5:58am

RichLevy
Total Posts: 1140
pic
Vista Home 32bit


This failed for me also.


Rich

Post by frootee // Oct 5, 2008, 6:02am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
thanks guys.

well here's one solution for vista but it looks kinda kludgy.


http://microsoft-server-operating-systems.hostweb.com/TopicMessages/microsoft.public.windows.server.scripting/1975138/1/Default.aspx


So I may just refactor the C++ dialog code and bring it here as a plugin to test.


thanks!


Froo

Post by early // Oct 5, 2008, 6:03am

early
Total Posts: 46
A quick Google search show a lot of script writers asking the same questions. Maybe someone has already found a 'common' common dialog approach. Of course, instead of two builds, you could just incorporate an OS check.


If you're forced into using IE to access the control, you might want to look at my IE and XML automation objects for some options.

Post by frootee // Oct 5, 2008, 6:10am

frootee
Total Posts: 2667
pic
cool thanks early.

Could you post a link please?


Thanks!


Yes, checking the OS would be good. I wouldn't be able to test it on a Vista machine since I do not have access so I'll post it here once I get some solutions.

Post by Chef_eam // Oct 5, 2008, 6:15am

Chef_eam
Total Posts: 18
Second one gives an error.
Vista Home Premium 32 bit
Awportals.com is a privately held community resource website dedicated to Active Worlds.
Copyright (c) Mark Randall 2006 - 2024. All Rights Reserved.
Awportals.com   ·   ProLibraries Live   ·   Twitter   ·   LinkedIn